Early day motion 1969

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes that victims should be at the heart of the justice system; recognises that many victims of dangerous drivers are left with horrendous injuries, some have been left brain damaged, paralysed or with amputations and as long as the victim does not die the maximum sentence for dangerous driving is two years; further recognises that an increase to the maximum sentence for dangerous driving has widespread support from groups such as AA, Brake and The Victims Commissioner; notes that both the Labour Party and Conservative Party committed to increasing the sentence before the 2010 general election; and therefore calls on the Government to ensure justice for victims of dangerous driving by increasing the maximum sentence from two years to seven years.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 27

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 27 out of 27

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 07.07.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 22.06.2011
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 06.07.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 23.06.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.06.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 22.06.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 19.07.2011
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 05.09.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 23.06.2011
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 22.06.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 27.06.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 27.06.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 29.06.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 28.06.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 11.08.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 23.06.2011
Johnson, Alan Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 22.06.2011
Jones, Susan Elan Labour Party Clwyd South 22.06.2011
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 29.06.2011
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 28.06.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 29.06.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 29.06.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 29.06.2011
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 04.07.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 29.06.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 22.06.2011
Turner, Karl Labour Party Kingston upon Hull East 22.06.2011