Early day motion 1948

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the Office of Fair Trading's recent debt management compliance review found that there is widespread non-compliance with its guidance by debt advice and debt management licensees with mis-leading advertising and poor competence among front-line advisors prevalent; further notes concerns raised by Citizens Advice that debt management companies frequently charge excessive fees for their services, charge fees without making it clear to the client what they can expect in return or fail to pass fees to creditors, as well as concerns raised in the recent Citizens Advice super-complaint to the Office of Fair Trading regarding widespread consumer detriment arising from aggressive marketing on behalf of fee-charging debt management companies including the widespread practice of cold calling, which provides a gateway to bad practice, particularly where vulnerable consumers are targeted; and calls on the Government to take urgent steps to introduce more effective regulation of the fee-charging debt management sector, including an immediate ban on cold calling, an immediate ban on the charging of upfront fees for debt management services from clients before an agreement has been reached with the client's creditors and the client has received confirmation regarding what this agreement entails, and effective auditing of for-profit debt management companies.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 73

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 73 out of 73

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abrahams, Debbie Labour Party Oldham East and Saddleworth 20.06.2011
Banks, Gordon Labour Party Ochil and South Perthshire 22.06.2011
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 29.06.2011
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 29.06.2011
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 20.06.2011
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 20.06.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 20.06.2011
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 22.06.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 27.06.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.06.2011
Chapman, Jenny Labour Party Darlington 20.06.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 18.07.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 22.06.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.06.2011
Crouch, Tracey Conservative Party Chatham and Aylesford 20.06.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 17.10.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 05.07.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 20.06.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 23.06.2011
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 17.10.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 20.06.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 21.06.2011
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 20.06.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 27.06.2011
Fovargue, Yvonne Labour Party Makerfield 20.06.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 04.07.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 27.06.2011
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 20.06.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 20.06.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 28.06.2011
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 20.06.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 28.06.2011
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 14.07.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 27.06.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 21.06.2011
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 28.06.2011
Hunt, Tristram Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 20.06.2011
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 28.06.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 21.06.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 05.07.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 23.06.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 23.06.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 29.06.2011
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 05.07.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 29.06.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 21.06.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 06.07.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.06.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 28.06.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 20.06.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 28.06.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 12.07.2011
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 20.06.2011
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 28.06.2011
Murray, Ian Labour Party Edinburgh South 20.06.2011
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 28.06.2011
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 27.06.2011
Reckless, Mark Conservative Party Rochester and Strood 20.06.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 29.06.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 20.06.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 28.06.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 20.06.2011
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 21.06.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 22.06.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 28.06.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 21.06.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 21.06.2011
Smith, Nick Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 20.06.2011
Tredinnick, David Conservative Party Bosworth 29.06.2011
Turner, Karl Labour Party Kingston upon Hull East 20.06.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 20.06.2011
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 06.07.2011
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 18.07.2011