Early day motion 1894

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the decision by Trinity Mirror newspaper group of the cut of 90 journalist jobs at its Glasgow office of the Daily Record and Sunday Mail newspapers; considers that these newspapers are at the forefront of investigative journalism in Glasgow and Scotland; further notes the important role played by print industry in Scottish society historically and currently; expresses further concern that the decision may create a democratic deficit and limit the national newspaper industry at a critical time; fears that a smaller newspaper industry will dilute quality journalism and training opportunities for young journalists; encourages the Trinity Mirror newspaper group to consult extensively with staff and their trade union representatives; further believes that this decision will have a damaging effect on journalism in Scotland in the context of changes that have taken place across the whole of the Scottish media in recent years; and urges the Government to do all it can to safeguard the newspaper industry in Scotland.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 24

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 24 out of 24

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 13.06.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 14.06.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 14.06.2011
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 15.06.2011
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 23.06.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 20.06.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 15.06.2011
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 14.06.2011
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 09.06.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.06.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 09.06.2011
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 21.06.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 14.06.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 15.06.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 13.06.2011
Murray, Ian Labour Party Edinburgh South 04.07.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 09.06.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 29.06.2011
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 23.06.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 17.06.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 20.06.2011
Sarwar, Anas Labour Party Glasgow Central 09.06.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 16.06.2011
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 06.07.2011