Early day motion 1893

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the active involvement of Egyptian women in Tahrir Square calling for social justice, dignity and freedom and the opportunity for a new era of democracy and human rights in Egypt; notes the 4th June Egyptian National Women's Statement; expresses support for their demands, ensuring women's representation throughout the democratic transition process and throughout the new parliament and the entrenchment of women's social, political and economic rights in the new Egyptian Constitution; further recognises the important role of the Alliance for Arab Women in organising this declaration and further notes the importance of UN Women in working for women's empowerment in Egypt; sees this as a pivotal moment for women in Egypt and calls for action to ensure they are able to play an equal role in their country's future in the way they demand; warns that the legal, democratic and economic advances made by women over the last decade are at risk; and calls on the Government through its own programme of aid and through multilateral institutions including the World Bank, the UN and the EU, to ensure women's rights are protected and that UK and international support for political and economic reform in Egypt is based on equality for women and men.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 65

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 65 out of 65

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Alexander, Heidi Labour Party Lewisham East 18.07.2011
Ali, Rushanara Labour Party Bethnal Green and Bow 09.06.2011
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 14.06.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 10.06.2011
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 15.06.2011
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 15.06.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 15.06.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 13.06.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 14.06.2011
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 09.06.2011
Cooper, Yvette Labour Party Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford 09.06.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.06.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 21.06.2011
Creagh, Mary Labour Party Wakefield 09.06.2011
Curran, Margaret Labour Party Glasgow East 11.07.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 13.06.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 15.06.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 15.06.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 13.06.2011
Eagle, Angela Labour Party Wallasey 09.06.2011
Eagle, Maria Labour Party Garston and Halewood 09.06.2011
Flint, Caroline Labour Party Don Valley 09.06.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 15.06.2011
Gardiner, Barry Labour Party Brent North 11.07.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 14.06.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 15.06.2011
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 09.06.2011
Griffith, Nia Labour Party Llanelli 13.07.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 13.06.2011
Harman, Harriet Labour Party Camberwell and Peckham 09.06.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 27.06.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 09.06.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.06.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 14.06.2011
Jarvis, Dan Labour Party Barnsley Central 09.06.2011
Jones, Susan Elan Labour Party Clwyd South 09.06.2011
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 09.06.2011
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 21.06.2011
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 09.06.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 13.06.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 16.06.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 14.06.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 09.06.2011
Mactaggart, Fiona Labour Party Slough 10.06.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 14.06.2011
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 09.06.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 15.06.2011
McKechin, Ann Labour Party Glasgow North 09.06.2011
Morris, David Conservative Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 15.06.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 13.06.2011
Reynolds, Emma Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 09.06.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 23.06.2011
Sarwar, Anas Labour Party Glasgow Central 09.06.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 15.06.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 14.06.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 13.06.2011
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 15.06.2011
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 09.06.2011
Twigg, Stephen Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 09.06.2011
Umunna, Chuka Labour Party Streatham 09.06.2011
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 11.08.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 18.07.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 16.06.2011
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 27.10.2011
Winterton, Rosie Labour Party Doncaster Central 09.06.2011