Early day motion 1878

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the positive contribution that low energy lighting bulbs such as compact fluorescent lamps (CFLs) are making to reduce energy consumption; acknowledges that ultra-violet radiation, electric fields and peaks in light wavelength from CFLs can aggravate conditions including lupus, migraines, autistic conditions, ME and xeroderma pigmentosum; notes the Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Public Health's statement that between 30,000 and 40,000 people in the UK might be at risk of harm in this respect; also notes that the campaign group the Spectrum Alliance estimate this figure to be in excess of 250,000; acknowledges that this restricts both the range of work and day-to-day activities these people can undertake; is aware that incandescent light bulbs are the only light source not to have such effects; acknowledges that Commission Regulation (EC) No 244/2009 prohibits the sale of incandescent light bulbs; supports the Spectrum Alliance's campaign to have incandescent light bulbs made available to those affected; and urges the Department of Health to seek an exemption from the Commission Regulation in this respect.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 45

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 45 out of 45

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 02.11.2011
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 06.07.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.06.2011
Chapman, Jenny Labour Party Darlington 10.10.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 16.06.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 09.06.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 09.06.2011
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 09.06.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 16.06.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 20.07.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 14.06.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 08.06.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 08.06.2011
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 18.07.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 08.06.2011
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 29.06.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 15.06.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 09.06.2011
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 07.06.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 07.06.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 10.06.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 05.09.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 14.07.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 09.06.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 14.06.2011
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 19.07.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 20.06.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 09.06.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 15.06.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 15.06.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 08.06.2011
Morris, David Conservative Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 09.06.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 20.06.2011
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 15.06.2011
Murray, Ian Labour Party Edinburgh South 07.06.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 07.07.2011
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 11.08.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 21.06.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 09.06.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 16.06.2011
Sarwar, Anas Labour Party Glasgow Central 07.06.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 09.06.2011
Smith, Nick Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 05.09.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 05.12.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 17.10.2011