Early day motion 1857

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House condemns the closure of the Tetley's Brewery which will take place on 17 June 2011, a decision taken by Carlsberg UK which will end the brewery's 189 year history and longstanding affiliation with Leeds by signalling the end of Tetley's as a Leeds beer; believes that this decision is a betrayal of Leeds and the Tetley's brand and shows that Carlsberg UK is not committed either to Tetley's nor to Leeds; expresses sympathy for those who are losing their jobs as a result of this decision; calls on all the people of Leeds and all beer lovers to express their anger at the decision by boycotting Carlsberg; further calls on Leeds pubs, bars and clubs to show their support for Leeds by delisting Carlsberg; further believes thatTetley's is ended as a famous Leeds brand; instead celebrates the excellent independent breweries in the Leeds areas; and further believes that these breweries, including the Leeds Brewery, the WharfeBank Brewery, Ridgeside, Kirkstall Brewery Company, Burley Street Brewery, Rodham's and Briscoe's, are the future of Leeds brewing.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 15

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 15 out of 15

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.06.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 09.06.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 08.06.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 09.06.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 07.06.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 22.06.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 07.06.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 08.06.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 09.06.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 07.06.2011
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 24.05.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 09.06.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 07.06.2011
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 07.06.2011
Whittaker, Craig Conservative Party Calder Valley 07.06.2011