Early day motion 1846

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House commemorates the first meeting of the Society for Effecting the Abolition of the Slave Trade, which took place on 22 May 1787; notes the invaluable work of members of the Society, in particular Thomas Clarkson, who were instrumental in raising the public's awareness of the inhumane practice of slavery; recognises the extraordinary work of the Society in campaigning to end the slave trade within the British Empire, which culminated in the Slave Trade Act 1807; further notes with regret that over two centuries since the Act was passed, at least 12 million people around the world remain enslaved today according to the United Nations' estimate; further notes that sexual exploitation and forced prostitution, bonded labour and domestic servitude are key features of contemporary slavery; further recognises that human trafficking is the modern version of the slave trade; and calls on the Government to use every tool at its disposal to fight the root causes of slavery and to prosecute those who participate in enslaving or trafficking vulnerable individuals into the UK.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 73

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 73 out of 73

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 08.06.2011
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 17.06.2011
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 24.05.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 24.05.2011
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 10.06.2011
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 11.07.2011
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 16.06.2011
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 09.06.2011
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 07.06.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.06.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 24.05.2011
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 07.06.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 23.05.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 23.05.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 07.06.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 09.06.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 08.06.2011
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 16.06.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 23.05.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 07.06.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 24.05.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 08.06.2011
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 16.06.2011
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 09.06.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 24.05.2011
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 15.06.2011
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 13.06.2011
Field, Mark Conservative Party Cities of London and Westminster 08.06.2011
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 09.06.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 07.06.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 14.06.2011
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 07.06.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 07.06.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 22.06.2011
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 23.05.2011
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 10.10.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 08.06.2011
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 07.06.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 07.06.2011
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 23.05.2011
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 07.06.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 07.06.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 24.05.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 07.06.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 08.06.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 08.06.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 15.06.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 24.05.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 07.06.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 08.06.2011
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 27.06.2011
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 15.06.2011
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 23.05.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 13.06.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 09.06.2011
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 08.06.2011
Reckless, Mark Conservative Party Rochester and Strood 07.06.2011
Reynolds, Emma Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 13.06.2011
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 08.06.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 16.06.2011
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 08.06.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 23.05.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 24.05.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 08.06.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 07.06.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 24.05.2011
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 07.06.2011
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 07.06.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 10.06.2011
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 20.06.2011
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 09.06.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 24.05.2011
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 08.06.2011