Early day motion 1828

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the publication by the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs of the draft National Policy Statement on waste water; recognises the need to construct new infrastructure to manage the increasing volume of waste water; further recognises the particular needs in the River Thames area due to population growth and to meet EU environmental standards; further notes the provisions of the Planning Act 2008 and the role of the National Policy Statement as a valuable framework in which to consider new large-scale projects; welcomes the Fourth Report from the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee on the draft National Policy Statementon Waste Water and in particular its recommendation that site-specific sections (the Thames Tunnel and Deephams Sewage works) of the statement should be removed so that the National Policy Statement can focus wholly on providing clear generic criteria applicable to all nationally significant infrastructure projects; and calls on the Government, in line with the recommendation of the Select Committee, to ensure that the National Policy Statement be subject to a debate on the floor of the House of Commons on an amendable motion prior to designation.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 11

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 11 out of 11

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 24.05.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 19.05.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 04.07.2011
Gardiner, Barry Labour Party Brent North 11.07.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 19.05.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 19.05.2011
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 18.05.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 15.06.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 19.05.2011
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 13.06.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 07.06.2011