Early day motion 1705

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the importance of the disability living allowance (DLA)/personal independent payment (PIP) mobility component in helping disabled people to be independent and exercise choice and control over their lives; welcomes the decision by the Government to review the proposals to remove the mobility component of DLA/PIP for people in residential care; calls on the Government to clarify the details of the review and how it will be carried out; further notes the contents of the Don't limit mobility report produced by 27 organisations and endorsed by the Association of Directors of Adult Social Services which states that the Government's decision to remove the mobility component of DLA/PIP from people in residential care is based on an incorrect assumption of double-funding; further notes the publication of the DLA, Sorting the facts from the fictions report by 39 organisations which analyses the subsequent rationale put forward by the Government with regard to this proposal; further notes the expertise of voluntary, community and charitable organisations in relation to disability issues; and further calls on the Government to engage with these third sector organisations and consider their views when conducting the review.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 62

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 62 out of 62

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blears, Hazel Labour Party Salford and Eccles 04.04.2011
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 04.04.2011
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 15.06.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 26.04.2011
Brown, Nicholas Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne East 04.04.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 27.04.2011
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 04.04.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 04.05.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 07.06.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 09.06.2011
Creasy, Stella Labour Party Walthamstow 04.04.2011
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 04.04.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 04.04.2011
David, Wayne Labour Party Caerphilly 04.04.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 16.05.2011
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 05.09.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 05.04.2011
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 27.04.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 04.04.2011
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 04.04.2011
Fovargue, Yvonne Labour Party Makerfield 04.04.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 04.04.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 24.05.2011
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 06.09.2011
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 04.04.2011
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 04.04.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.04.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 04.05.2011
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 26.04.2011
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 04.04.2011
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 04.04.2011
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 27.04.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 11.05.2011
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 05.04.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 04.05.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 04.04.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 07.06.2011
Jarvis, Dan Labour Party Barnsley Central 04.04.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 04.04.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 05.04.2011
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 26.04.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 26.04.2011
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 04.04.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 17.05.2011
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 04.04.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 03.05.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 04.04.2011
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 26.04.2011
Reynolds, Emma Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 04.04.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 11.05.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 28.04.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 03.05.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 04.04.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 26.04.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 05.04.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 04.04.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 05.04.2011
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 26.04.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 04.04.2011
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 04.04.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 26.04.2011
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 03.05.2011