Early day motion 1633

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that proposals to reform the Social Fund through the abolition of community care grants and crisis loans for general living expenses, and their replacement witha system of localised provision through non-ring-fenced funding to local authorities, could restrict emergency financial support for individuals and families when they need it most; further notes that localisation at a time of substantial pressure on local authority resources could lead to severe reductions of access to any equivalent assistance at all if the money is not ring-fenced, meaning that vulnerable families and individuals could face a postcode lottery of different entitlements in different locations; further notes that the Social Fund is a targeted intervention which can enable people to move to independent living after hospital stays and to resettle successfully following homelessness, and provides necessities for families to build a new home after a crisis; urges the Government to heed concerns expressed by organisations such as Family Action, Child Poverty Action Group, Citizens Advice, Community Links, Disability Alliance, Gingerbread, Homeless Link, RNIB, Shelter, Save the Children and Buttle UK (formerly The Frank Buttle Trust), that cuts to the Social Fund may mean that families have nowhere else to turn and existing welfare grants schemes could be swamped; and calls on the Government to rethink reform of the Social Fund whilst other fundamental reform of the welfare system, including the introduction of the Universal Credit takes place so as to ensure that people are not left without a welfare safety net at this time.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 59

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 59 out of 59

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Alexander, Heidi Labour Party Lewisham East 21.03.2011
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 21.03.2011
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 23.03.2011
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 23.03.2011
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 23.03.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 23.03.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.03.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 21.03.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 31.03.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 07.06.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 22.03.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 30.03.2011
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 23.03.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 21.03.2011
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 31.03.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 21.03.2011
Danczuk, Simon Labour Party Rochdale 17.05.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 22.03.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 31.03.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 21.03.2011
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 08.02.2012
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 26.04.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 21.03.2011
Fovargue, Yvonne Labour Party Makerfield 21.03.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 21.03.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 22.03.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 21.03.2011
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 21.03.2011
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 21.03.2011
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 27.04.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 30.03.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 28.03.2011
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 31.03.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 24.03.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 21.03.2011
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 24.03.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 24.03.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 31.03.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 30.03.2011
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 21.03.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 29.03.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.03.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 01.04.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 31.03.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 21.03.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 21.03.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 04.04.2011
Nash, Pamela Labour Party Airdrie and Shotts 21.03.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 21.03.2011
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 29.03.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 28.03.2011
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 21.03.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 31.03.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 11.05.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 22.03.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 23.03.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 22.03.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 22.03.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 23.03.2011