Early day motion 1531

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House regrets the decision by the UK Border Agency to refuse a visa for Helen Berhane to enter the UK; recalls the enormous suffering and persecution endured by Helen whilst held prisoner in Eritrea in appalling conditions in a shipping container where she was tortured, abused and beaten because of her strong Christian faith; notes that Helen desires to share with people in the UK a message of hope, peace and reconciliation; and calls on the Home Office to intervene urgently to ensure that this decision is reviewed and a visa issued to Helen Berhane.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 41

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 41 out of 41

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Alexander, Heidi Labour Party Lewisham East 03.05.2011
Banks, Gordon Labour Party Ochil and South Perthshire 13.05.2011
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 29.06.2011
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 10.10.2011
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 05.04.2011
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 08.03.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 01.04.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 12.05.2011
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 07.06.2011
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 21.06.2011
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 04.05.2011
Danczuk, Simon Labour Party Rochdale 07.06.2011
Davies, David TC Conservative Party Monmouth 26.04.2011
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 03.05.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 03.03.2011
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 03.03.2011
Evans, Jonathan Conservative Party Cardiff North 09.06.2011
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 07.06.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 31.03.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 07.06.2011
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 17.05.2011
Hames, Duncan Liberal Democrats Chippenham 19.07.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 26.04.2011
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 26.04.2011
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 11.05.2011
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 11.08.2011
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 16.06.2011
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 08.06.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 03.03.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 17.03.2011
Paisley, Ian Jnr Democratic Unionist Party North Antrim 03.03.2011
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 04.05.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 03.03.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 03.03.2011
Streeter, Gary Conservative Party South West Devon 24.05.2011
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 09.06.2011
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 31.03.2011
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 12.05.2011
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 09.03.2011
Whittingdale, John Conservative Party Maldon 08.06.2011
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 26.04.2011