Early day motion 1364

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the current moves by the General Synod of the Church of England to pass legislation permitting women to be bishops; notes that the Synod is currently engaged in consulting the Dioceses on the Women in the Episcopate: draft bishops and priests (consecration and ordination of women) Measure; further notes that General Synod expects to debate the final approval stage of the Measure in July 2012; encourages the House of Bishops to commend the Measure as currently drafted; and calls on Her Majesty's Government to remove any exemptions pertaining to gender under existing equality legislation, in the event that the Measure has overwhelming support in the dioceses but fails through a technicality to receive final approval in General Synod.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 51

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 51 out of 51

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 07.03.2012
Alexander, Heidi Labour Party Lewisham East 08.02.2011
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 17.02.2011
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 11.02.2011
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 08.02.2011
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 27.01.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 27.01.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 01.02.2011
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 07.02.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 31.01.2011
Crouch, Tracey Conservative Party Chatham and Aylesford 14.02.2011
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 11.02.2011
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 27.01.2011
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 27.01.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 31.01.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 01.02.2011
Goggins, Paul Labour Party Wythenshawe and Sale East 10.03.2011
Hames, Duncan Liberal Democrats Chippenham 26.04.2011
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 07.02.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 01.02.2011
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 01.02.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 03.02.2011
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 02.02.2011
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats Bermondsey and Old Southwark 27.01.2011
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 07.02.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 31.01.2011
Jenkin, Bernard Conservative Party Harwich and Essex North 15.02.2011
Johnson, Diana R Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 27.01.2011
Laing, Eleanor Conservative Party Epping Forest 01.02.2011
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 01.03.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 02.02.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 08.02.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 02.03.2011
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 08.02.2011
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 08.02.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 01.02.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 31.01.2011
Mordaunt, Penny Conservative Party Portsmouth North 02.02.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 07.02.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 01.02.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 31.01.2011
Soames, Nicholas Conservative Party Mid Sussex 02.02.2011
Stanley, John Conservative Party Tonbridge and Malling 28.02.2011
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 09.02.2011
Timms, Stephen Labour Party East Ham 27.01.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 01.02.2011
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 03.02.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 22.06.2011
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 11.02.2011
Wright, Simon Liberal Democrats Norwich South 28.03.2011
Yeo, Tim Conservative Party South Suffolk 16.02.2011