Early day motion 1320

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall and Channel 4 for highlighting the wasteful discarding of marketable fish at sea; commends the Scottish fishing industry for having significantly reduced discards of North Sea cod, haddock and whiting in recent years through a combination of measures including the use of selective fishing gear, real-time closures of fishing grounds, and remote electronic monitoring, allowing fishermen to land more of what they catch; notes the groundbreaking work being undertaken by the Scottish Government in cooperation with the fishing industry and other stakeholders on catch quotas and the conservation credits that is seeing a reduction in discards; calls for an end to the failed EU Common Fisheries Policy which is undermining both conservation and livelihoods in coastal communities; and further calls on the Government to promote a long-term whole ecosystem approach to fisheries management that is both environmentally and economically sustainable.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 37

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 37 out of 37

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 24.01.2011
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 31.01.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 26.01.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.01.2011
Chapman, Jenny Labour Party Darlington 07.06.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 26.01.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.02.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 12.05.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 26.01.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 31.01.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 10.02.2011
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 04.02.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 31.01.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 25.01.2011
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 08.06.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 27.01.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 31.01.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 26.01.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 31.01.2011
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 27.01.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 02.02.2011
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 25.01.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 03.02.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 26.01.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 26.01.2011
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 25.01.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 31.01.2011
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 03.03.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 25.01.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 17.02.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 25.01.2011
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 25.01.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 25.01.2011
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 02.02.2011
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 25.01.2011
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 20.01.2011
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 27.01.2011