Early day motion 1270

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that while traditionally printed books and printed papers are exempt from VAT, e-books are subject to the full rate of 20 per cent.; further notes that e-books produced within other jurisdictions are not necessarily subject to similar taxes and therefore enjoy a huge competitive advantage; recognises that e-book publications is a growing industry which should be encouraged and supported within the UK; and calls on the Government to bring forward proposals to standardise VAT for books and printed papers, whether published in electronic or printed form, at the current rate of zero per cent.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 51

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 51 out of 51

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 08.06.2011
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 19.01.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 13.01.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 19.01.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 18.01.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 17.01.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 01.02.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 20.01.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.02.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.01.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 12.01.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 18.01.2011
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 12.01.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.01.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 12.01.2011
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 12.01.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 20.01.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 25.01.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 13.01.2011
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 12.01.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 18.01.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 31.01.2011
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 12.01.2011
Jones, Susan Elan Labour Party Clwyd South 12.01.2011
Joyce, Eric Labour Party Falkirk 12.01.2011
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 12.01.2011
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 12.01.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 21.01.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 18.01.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 19.01.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 17.01.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 20.01.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 12.01.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.01.2011
Morris, David Conservative Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 18.01.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 12.01.2011
Mowat, David Conservative Party Warrington South 17.01.2011
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 25.01.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 26.01.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 20.01.2011
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 12.01.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 13.01.2011
Roy, Frank Labour Party Motherwell and Wishaw 12.01.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 12.01.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 12.01.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 13.01.2011
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 24.01.2011
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 09.02.2011
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 12.01.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 08.03.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 17.01.2011