Early day motion 1256

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is alarmed by the Government's plans to close coastguard stations at Clyde, Forth, Yarmouth, Thames, Portland, Brixham, Milford Haven and Holyhead, with decisions to be made between Shetland or Stornoway and Liverpool or Belfast; notes that this would reduce the number of coastguard stations in the UK from 19 to nine with aggregate job losses of over 220 and have a negative economic impact on coastal communities; is deeply concerned over the maritime and other safety implications of reducing the number of 24-hour coastguard stations in the UK to two; further notes that coastguard officers are some of the lowest paid emergency service staff and frequently take second jobs to supplement annual wages as low as 13,500; recognises that technological advances offer some opportunity for rescues to be co-ordinated from a distance; believes that technology should complement the knowledge of local coastal areas which coastguards possess, not supplant it; and calls on the Government to step back from this hazardous reduction in the number of local coastguard stations.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 113

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 113 out of 113

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 08.06.2011
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 28.02.2011
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 01.02.2011
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 10.03.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.01.2011
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 09.02.2011
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 12.01.2011
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 24.01.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 12.01.2011
Carswell, Douglas Conservative Party Clacton 16.03.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.01.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 11.01.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 08.02.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 20.01.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 12.01.2011
Creasy, Stella Labour Party Walthamstow 01.02.2011
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 08.02.2011
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 09.02.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 21.01.2011
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 09.06.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 18.01.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 01.02.2011
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 18.05.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 12.01.2011
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 16.03.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 19.01.2011
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 01.02.2011
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 31.03.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 11.01.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 12.01.2011
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 26.01.2011
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 18.03.2011
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 01.02.2011
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 26.01.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 12.01.2011
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 27.01.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 19.01.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 16.03.2011
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 20.01.2011
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 14.02.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 27.01.2011
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 13.06.2011
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 14.03.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 12.01.2011
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 31.01.2011
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 21.06.2011
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 02.02.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 26.01.2011
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 21.01.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 11.01.2011
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 03.02.2011
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 27.01.2011
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 26.01.2011
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 28.03.2011
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 15.03.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 02.02.2011
Jones, Kevan Labour Party North Durham 21.01.2011
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 09.02.2011
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 12.01.2011
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 21.01.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 16.03.2011
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 02.02.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 31.01.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 18.01.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 19.01.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 11.01.2011
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 25.01.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 21.01.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 03.02.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 11.01.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 03.02.2011
McGuire, Anne Labour Party Stirling 07.02.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 12.01.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 28.02.2011
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 18.03.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 25.01.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 24.03.2011
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 27.01.2011
Nash, Pamela Labour Party Airdrie and Shotts 02.02.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 21.03.2011
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 12.01.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 10.02.2011
Reynolds, Emma Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 09.03.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 11.01.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 12.01.2011
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 03.03.2011
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 04.03.2011
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 20.01.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 08.03.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 19.01.2011
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 25.01.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 25.01.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 20.01.2011
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 12.01.2011
Sarwar, Anas Labour Party Glasgow Central 26.01.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 12.01.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 03.05.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 26.03.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 20.01.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 12.01.2011
Smith, Nick Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 24.01.2011
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 17.01.2011
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 15.02.2011
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 14.03.2011
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 27.01.2011
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 21.01.2011
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 27.01.2011
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 27.01.2011
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 17.02.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 12.01.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 17.01.2011
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 17.02.2011
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 27.01.2011