Early day motion 1199

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is alarmed at the 25 per cent. cut to the Forestry Commission announced in the Comprehensive Spending Review; opposes plans to sell off parts of the Public Forest Estate in England which could result in 30 million trees being cut down and job losses in England and Scotland; notes that the Forestry Commission in England manages 258,000 hectares of public forest, employing 856 people; further notes that the Commission manages the highest number of sites of special scientific interest, with 99 per cent. of these in favourable or recovering condition; regards forests as a priceless carbon storage resource and essential to the Government's efforts to achieve climate change mitigation targets; is concerned that education courses and public health programmes would be inhibited by the sale of public forests; acknowledges that public rights of way are lost under private ownership of former Forestry Commission land; further notes that at 9 per cent. the level of forestation in England is one of the lowest in Europe and that 69 per cent. of forest is already privately-owned; further notes that hits on the Forestry Commission Trades Union's website increased by 560 per cent. to 80,000 per month after this cut was announced; and calls on the Government to bring forward proposals to amend the Public Bodies Bill [Lords] to remove this threat to forests.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 51

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 51 out of 51

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 27.01.2011
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 27.01.2011
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 27.01.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 15.12.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.02.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 03.02.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 31.01.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 08.02.2011
Creasy, Stella Labour Party Walthamstow 16.02.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 31.01.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 27.01.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 15.12.2010
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 09.02.2011
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 01.02.2011
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 19.01.2011
Fovargue, Yvonne Labour Party Makerfield 15.12.2010
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 02.02.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 21.12.2010
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 07.03.2011
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 24.01.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 10.02.2011
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 07.02.2011
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 07.02.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 08.02.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 01.02.2011
Hodge, Margaret Labour Party Barking 10.02.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.12.2010
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 10.01.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 16.12.2010
Jones, Graham Labour Party Hyndburn 26.01.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 31.01.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 14.02.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 08.02.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 14.12.2010
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 25.01.2011
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 26.01.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 15.12.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 14.12.2010
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 09.02.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 13.01.2011
McGuire, Anne Labour Party Stirling 14.02.2011
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 15.02.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 09.02.2011
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 31.01.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 31.01.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 15.12.2010
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 03.02.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 15.12.2010
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 15.12.2010
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 20.12.2010
Turner, Karl Labour Party Kingston upon Hull East 27.01.2011