Early day motion 1167

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the Medical Technology Group's Pump Action campaign to improve access to insulin pump therapy for everyone with type 1 diabetes in the UK who would benefit; notes the findings of a Freedom of Information survey of primary care trusts in which the average rate of pump provision for people with type 1 diabetes is shown to be 3.9 per cent. compared to the 12 per cent. benchmark recommended by the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence; is concerned that potentially tens of thousands of eligible patients are missing out on pump therapy as an alternative to multiple daily injections; acknowledges that pump therapy improves patient outcomes through better management of blood glucose levels, and a reduced risk of complications while bringing short and long-term economic benefits to the NHS by reducing both planned and emergency hospital admissions; and calls on the Government to work with the Medical Technology Group and other stakeholders to implement the recommendations contained within Pump Action, and ensure that local commissioners, provider trusts and emerging general practitioner consortia utilise the NHS Technology Adoption Centre's How to Why to Guide on insulin pumps to ensure that all eligible patients can access insulin pumps as soon as possible.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 50

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 50 out of 50

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 12.01.2011
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 13.12.2010
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 16.12.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 14.12.2010
Chapman, Jenny Labour Party Darlington 10.01.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 10.01.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 20.01.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 08.02.2011
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 19.01.2011
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 10.01.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 10.01.2011
Davies, David TC Conservative Party Monmouth 21.03.2011
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 10.01.2011
Dobbin, Jim [R] Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 13.12.2010
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 10.01.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 15.12.2010
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 15.12.2010
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 09.12.2010
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 12.01.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 15.12.2010
Hancock, Mike [R] Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 09.12.2010
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 20.12.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 14.12.2010
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 14.12.2010
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 16.12.2010
Lavery, Ian [R] Labour Party Wansbeck 13.12.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 14.12.2010
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 12.01.2011
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 10.01.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 15.12.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 14.12.2010
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 13.01.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 13.12.2010
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 15.12.2010
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 17.01.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 13.01.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 20.12.2010
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 17.01.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 10.01.2011
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 18.01.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 19.01.2011
Sanders, Adrian [R] Liberal Democrats Torbay 09.12.2010
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 15.12.2010
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 13.01.2011
Vaz, Keith [R] Labour Party Leicester East 14.12.2010
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 12.01.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 10.01.2011
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 28.04.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 14.12.2010
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 12.01.2011