Early day motion 1152

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House supports the National Union of Journalists (NUJ) members taking industrial action at Newsquest Newspapers Group; believes they have been forced to take this course of action as a result of widespread attacks on jobs and an on-going imposed three-year pay freeze; notes the company is generating huge profits and the latest accounts for parent company Gannett UK show that the highest paid director enjoyed a massive 108,000 hike in his overall pay to 609,235 last year which exposes the corporate greed doing so much damage to their papers and websites; further notes that trade union members have balloted for and have taken strike action at a number of Newsquest sites across the UK; further notes the determination of NUJ members at Newsquest to oppose pay freezes, attacks on their pensions and job cuts; commends their stand to defend quality journalism; and urges Newsquest to enter into meaningful discussions with the NUJ at all levels to resolve these disputes by protecting jobs and investing in the journalism of its titles and websites to meet the needs of local communities and advertisers.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 49

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 49 out of 49

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 10.01.2011
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 20.12.2010
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 08.12.2010
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 08.12.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 13.12.2010
Chapman, Jenny Labour Party Darlington 15.12.2010
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 07.12.2010
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 09.12.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 09.12.2010
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 07.12.2010
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 07.12.2010
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 10.01.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 07.12.2010
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 14.12.2010
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 08.12.2010
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 17.01.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 07.12.2010
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 07.12.2010
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 10.01.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 07.12.2010
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 09.12.2010
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 19.01.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 16.12.2010
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 13.12.2010
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 07.12.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 09.12.2010
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 13.12.2010
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 27.04.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 09.12.2010
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 13.12.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 07.12.2010
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 13.01.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 08.12.2010
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 07.12.2010
Mowat, David Conservative Party Warrington South 10.01.2011
Nandy, Lisa Labour Party Wigan 07.12.2010
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 13.01.2011
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 13.12.2010
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 17.01.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 08.12.2010
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 09.12.2010
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 07.12.2010
Sarwar, Anas Labour Party Glasgow Central 15.12.2010
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 08.12.2010
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 20.12.2010
Wicks, Malcolm Labour Party Croydon North 27.06.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 07.12.2010
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 12.01.2011
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 04.02.2011