Early day motion 1140

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern continuing reports of human rights abuses in the Gambia; further notes that according to an independent report by Amnesty International the alleged abuses include arbitrary arrest, torture, incommunicado detention, unfair trials, rape, disappearance and extra-judicial executions; reaffirms its support for the recognition of fundamental human rights across the world; applauds members of the Gambian Human Rights Campaign in Scotland for continuing to raise awareness of this tremendously important issue; expresses its solidarity with the people of the Gambia in light of the reported human rights abuses being committed in their country; and calls on the coalition Government to do everything it can to place international pressure on the Gambian government in support of fundamental human rights.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 26

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 26 out of 26

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 08.12.2010
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 08.12.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 13.12.2010
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 21.12.2010
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 09.12.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 07.12.2010
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 08.02.2011
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 06.12.2010
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 07.12.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 06.12.2010
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 08.12.2010
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 09.12.2010
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 16.12.2010
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 08.12.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 07.12.2010
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 13.12.2010
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 09.12.2010
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 09.12.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 09.12.2010
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 10.01.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 09.12.2010
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 06.12.2010
Sarwar, Anas Labour Party Glasgow Central 06.12.2010
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 08.12.2010
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 20.12.2010
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 06.12.2010