Early day motion 1029

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes a new report by the Muscular Dystrophy Campaign, The Cost of Living with Muscle Disease, which highlights the extreme financial hardship faced by many families affected by muscular dystrophy and related neuromuscular conditions; notes that the report reveals that 40 per cent. of households with muscle disease are struggling to cover necessities including heating, gas and water; further notes that high usage of fuel for wheelchair users with these conditions, paired with rising costs, is resulting in quarterly fuel bills as high as 1,000 for some households; is concerned that 80 per cent. of households say that the current benefits system is not covering the additional cost of living with a disability; and calls on the Government to take action to alleviate poverty among people with muscle disease.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 41

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 41 out of 41

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Aldous, Peter Conservative Party Waveney 25.11.2010
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 24.11.2010
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 17.11.2010
Bridgen, Andrew Conservative Party North West Leicestershire 24.11.2010
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 09.12.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 30.11.2010
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 12.01.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 07.12.2010
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 24.11.2010
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 02.12.2010
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 09.12.2010
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 23.11.2010
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 17.11.2010
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 18.11.2010
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 18.11.2010
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 17.11.2010
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 30.11.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 22.11.2010
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 24.11.2010
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 18.11.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 23.11.2010
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 17.11.2010
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 24.11.2010
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 24.11.2010
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 09.12.2010
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 29.11.2010
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 18.11.2010
Mordaunt, Penny Conservative Party Portsmouth North 10.01.2011
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 06.12.2010
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 19.11.2010
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 01.12.2010
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 26.01.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 25.11.2010
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 29.11.2010
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 09.12.2010
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 17.11.2010
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 24.11.2010
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 22.11.2010
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 22.11.2010
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 18.11.2010
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 23.11.2010