Early day motion 1012

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the findings of the European Commission for Democracy through Law, also known as the Venice Commission, regarding the Slovak Republic 2009 State Language Act, that provisions regarding the obligation to use the state language in official communication in areas where the minority population does not reach the threshold of 20 per cent., the duty for private persons to use the official language in contacts with the authorities, the obligation to use the state language in judicial proceedings, administrative proceedings and proceedings before law-enforcement authorities if one has sufficient command of it and the non-recognition of contracts drafted in minority languages, should be revised as they are incompatible with the international obligations which the Slovak Republic has undertaken, and that further provisions of the Act, including the rules on television broadcasting, the duty to use the state language in cultural activities, the duty to use the state language in the Armed Forces, Armed Corps and Fire Brigades, the duty to use the state language in documents and written statements with legal effect in employment and other working relations should be revised to avoid disproportionate impact; and calls on the Slovak Republic to ensure that the State Language Act properly recognises and protects minority languages and their speakers.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 10

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 10 out of 10

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 17.11.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 17.11.2010
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 16.11.2010
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 16.11.2010
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 29.11.2010
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 16.11.2010
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 09.12.2010
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 18.11.2010
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 29.11.2010
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 16.11.2010