Early day motion 908

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses concern at the conclusions of the Science and Technology Committee's Report, Evidence Check on Homeopathy; notes that the Committee took only oral evidence from a limited number of witnesses, including known critics of homeopathy Tracy Brown, the Managing Director of Sense About Science, and journalist Dr Ben Goldacre, who have no expertise in the subject; believes that evidence should have been heard from primary care trusts that commission homeopathy, doctors who use it in a primary care setting, and other relevant organisations, such as the Society of Homeopaths, to provide balance; observes that the Committee did not consider evidence from abroad from countries such as France and Germany, where provision of homeopathy is far more widespread than in the UK, or from India, where it is part of the health service; regrets that the Committee ignored the 74 randomised controlled trials comparing homeopathy with placebo, of which 63 showed homeopathic treatments were effective, and that the Committee recommends no further research; further notes that 206 hon. Members signed Early Day Motion No. 1240 in support of NHS homeopathic hospitals in Session 2006-07; and calls on the Government to maintain its policy of allowing decision-making on individual clinical interventions, including homeopathy, to remain in the hands of local NHS service providers and practitioners who are best placed to know their community's needs.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 70

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 70 out of 70

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 05.03.2010
Ancram, Michael Conservative Party Devizes 25.03.2010
Atkinson, Peter Conservative Party Hexham 23.03.2010
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 06.04.2010
Barlow, Celia Labour Party Hove 02.03.2010
Binley, Brian Conservative Party Northampton South 03.03.2010
Bone, Peter Conservative Party Wellingborough 25.02.2010
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 03.03.2010
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 10.03.2010
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 22.03.2010
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 24.02.2010
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 24.02.2010
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 03.03.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 24.02.2010
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 06.04.2010
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 04.03.2010
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 25.02.2010
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 01.03.2010
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 24.02.2010
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 26.02.2010
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 24.02.2010
Ellwood, Tobias Conservative Party Bournemouth East 02.03.2010
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 22.03.2010
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 24.02.2010
Hall, Patrick Labour Party Bedford 03.03.2010
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 01.03.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 24.02.2010
Heathcoat-Amory, David Conservative Party Wells Somerset 16.03.2010
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 25.02.2010
Horam, John Conservative Party Orpington 09.03.2010
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 29.03.2010
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 16.03.2010
Key, Robert Conservative Party Salisbury 25.02.2010
Kirkbride, Julie Conservative Party Bromsgrove 24.03.2010
Kramer, Susan Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 22.03.2010
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 02.03.2010
Linton, Martin Labour Party Battersea 22.03.2010
Maclean, David Conservative Party Penrith and the Border 10.03.2010
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 02.03.2010
Marshall-Andrews, Robert Labour Party Medway 16.03.2010
Mates, Michael Conservative Party East Hampshire 26.02.2010
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 10.03.2010
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 03.03.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 24.02.2010
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 16.03.2010
Ottaway, Richard Conservative Party Croydon South 17.03.2010
Paisley, Ian Democratic Unionist Party North Antrim 03.03.2010
Pelling, Andrew INDEPENDENT Croydon Central 22.03.2010
Plaskitt, James Labour Party Warwick and Leamington 16.03.2010
Pound, Stephen Labour Party Ealing North 23.02.2010
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 04.03.2010
Robinson, Peter Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 03.03.2010
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 23.02.2010
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Central 01.03.2010
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 04.03.2010
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 23.02.2010
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 24.02.2010
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 17.03.2010
Spicer, Michael Conservative Party West Worcestershire 10.03.2010
Taylor, Dari Labour Party Stockton South 12.03.2010
Tredinnick, David Conservative Party Bosworth 23.02.2010
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 11.03.2010
Walter, Robert Conservative Party North Dorset 11.03.2010
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 04.03.2010
Whittingdale, John Conservative Party Maldon and East Chelmsford 11.03.2010
Widdecombe, Ann Conservative Party Maidstone and the Weald 09.03.2010
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 05.03.2010
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 22.03.2010
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 01.03.2010
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 26.02.2010