Early day motion 876

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the decision of the Chief Electoral Officer in Northern Ireland to count the ballots for the general election immediately following the close of the polls on election day; notes that this demonstrates the improved security situation in Northern Ireland which enables this to take place for the first time; commends the work of police across the United Kingdom who at every election work to ensure that citizens can exercise their democratic right to vote; and supports calls to ensure that all constituencies across the United Kingdom count ballot papers on the night of the election so that the composition of Parliament can be known as soon as possible following the close of the polls.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 33

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 33 out of 33

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 08.03.2010
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 22.02.2010
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 23.02.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 01.03.2010
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 03.03.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.02.2010
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 22.02.2010
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 02.03.2010
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 01.03.2010
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 24.02.2010
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 26.02.2010
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 04.03.2010
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 23.02.2010
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 05.03.2010
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 05.03.2010
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 24.02.2010
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 25.02.2010
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 23.02.2010
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 01.03.2010
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 25.02.2010
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 24.02.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 24.02.2010
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 22.02.2010
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 01.03.2010
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 04.03.2010
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 24.02.2010
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 24.02.2010
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 23.02.2010
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 01.03.2010
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 23.02.2010
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 22.02.2010
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 23.02.2010
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 23.02.2010