Early day motion 791

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the provisional decision of the Competition Commission that the 2003 remedy, Contract Rights Renewal (CRR), applying to ITV1 airtime sales should remain largely unchanged; believes that the explosion of competition in media markets since 2003 now renders the restriction unnecessary; is concerned about the distorting effects of CRR on ITV's scheduling and investment decisions; considers that CRR financially punishes ITV for delivering the programming its customers and viewers want; believes therefore, it is detrimental to the continued investment in original TV content and the health of the UK's wider creative economy; and calls on the Government to undertake an urgent review of the competition regime as it applies to media mergers to ensure that broader public interest criteria are considered alongside price competition by merger authorities.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 64

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 64 out of 64

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 03.02.2010
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 10.03.2010
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 04.03.2010
Blears, Hazel Labour Party Salford 01.03.2010
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 09.02.2010
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 03.03.2010
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 04.03.2010
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 29.03.2010
Cairns, David Labour Party Inverclyde 03.02.2010
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 26.02.2010
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 26.02.2010
Carswell, Douglas Conservative Party Harwich 22.02.2010
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 08.02.2010
Djanogly, Jonathan Conservative Party Huntingdon 22.02.2010
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 24.02.2010
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 02.03.2010
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 03.02.2010
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 05.03.2010
Goldsworthy, Julia Liberal Democrats Falmouth and Camborne 03.03.2010
Greenway, John Conservative Party Ryedale 05.02.2010
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 01.03.2010
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 24.02.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 08.02.2010
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 23.03.2010
Heald, Oliver Conservative Party North East Hertfordshire 07.04.2010
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 05.03.2010
Howarth, David Liberal Democrats Cambridge 02.03.2010
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 22.02.2010
Howells, Kim Labour Party Pontypridd 23.02.2010
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 08.03.2010
Hunt, Jeremy Conservative Party South West Surrey 03.02.2010
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 08.02.2010
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 04.02.2010
Jones, David Conservative Party Clwyd West 22.02.2010
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 10.03.2010
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 03.03.2010
Kirkbride, Julie Conservative Party Bromsgrove 03.02.2010
Laing, Eleanor Conservative Party Epping Forest 07.04.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 18.03.2010
Levitt, Tom Labour Party High Peak 22.02.2010
Loughton, Tim Conservative Party East Worthing and Shoreham 09.02.2010
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 26.02.2010
Moore, Michael Liberal Democrats Berwickshire Roxburgh and Selkirk 04.03.2010
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 24.02.2010
Oaten, Mark Liberal Democrats Winchester 05.02.2010
O'Brien, Stephen Conservative Party Eddisbury 07.04.2010
Opik, Lembit Liberal Democrats Montgomeryshire 26.02.2010
Ottaway, Richard Conservative Party Croydon South 05.02.2010
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 02.03.2010
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 04.03.2010
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 09.02.2010
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 09.02.2010
Selous, Andrew Conservative Party South West Bedfordshire 06.04.2010
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 26.02.2010
Swire, Hugo Conservative Party East Devon 07.04.2010
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent East 09.03.2010
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 26.02.2010
Twigg, Derek Labour Party Halton 02.03.2010
Vaizey, Edward Conservative Party Wantage 03.02.2010
Webb, Steve Liberal Democrats Northavon 04.03.2010
Whittingdale, John Conservative Party Maldon and East Chelmsford 09.02.2010
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 22.02.2010
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 24.03.2010
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 10.02.2010