Early day motion 782

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recalls that the Mayor of London promised prior to his election that `it is important for the Mayor to take a public lead, so I will chair the Metropolitan Police Authority'; further recalls that he promised in his manifesto that `I will take personal responsibility,' and that `no offence will be too trivial to demand my attention' and that he claimed that `no challenge will be so big that I shrug my shoulders and pass the buck'; notes that on 27 January 2010 the Mayor broke all of these pledges to Londoners by resigning as the chair of the Metropolitan Police Authority; further notes with concern that the Mayor's draft budget contains a proposal to cut the number of police in the capital by 455 officers; further notes that the net effect of his four budgets will be that the Conservative Mayor will preside over a reduction in police numbers in the capital; is reminded that police numbers in the capital fell under the last Conservative Government; contrasts this policy with Labour's record in London; believes that the Conservative Mayor's election rhetoric on crime is not matched by adequate investment in the police service; further believes there are now serious questions over what the Mayor is delivering for the capital; and urges the Mayor to reverse his policy of squeezing the budget for the fight against crime at the expense of Londoners.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 34

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 34 out of 34

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 08.02.2010
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 10.02.2010
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 02.02.2010
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 03.02.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 03.02.2010
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 10.02.2010
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 03.02.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 02.02.2010
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 04.02.2010
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 03.02.2010
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 02.02.2010
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 24.02.2010
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 02.02.2010
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 05.02.2010
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 03.02.2010
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 02.02.2010
Gardiner, Barry Labour Party Brent North 02.02.2010
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 22.02.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 08.02.2010
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 02.02.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 08.02.2010
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 10.02.2010
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 03.02.2010
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 04.02.2010
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 08.02.2010
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 09.02.2010
Linton, Martin Labour Party Battersea 02.02.2010
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 03.02.2010
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 03.02.2010
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 10.02.2010
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 23.02.2010
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's Bush 02.02.2010
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 03.02.2010
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 08.02.2010