Early day motion 769

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is alarmed that large numbers of traditional working men's clubs, ex-servicemen's and political clubs may have to close following the decision of HM Revenue and Customs to serve them with assessments to pay value added tax (VAT) and duty on category B3A automated lottery machines operating on their premises, having changed their status from lottery machines to gaming machines; notes that unlike gaming machines, category B3A machines do not dispense cash prizes, and that winning tickets are redeemed via the club; appreciates that there is no private gain to be had from such machines as they are simply another source of fundraising for the club and the revenue often serves as a lifeline to smaller clubs; points out that HM Revenue and Customs consider paper-based lottery machines, which differ only from automated lottery machines in that they display the result via paper, to be exempt from value added tax and duty; draws attention to the fact that the Gambling Commission still states that category B3A machines can offer only lottery games; points out that private members' clubs are not-for-profit organisations and as such do not have the resources to pay retrospective tax bills; and calls on the Government to halt this process, taking into account its negative economic and social impact on local communities up and down the country.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 61

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 61 out of 61

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 24.02.2010
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 23.02.2010
Atkins, Charlotte Labour Party Staffordshire Moorlands 23.03.2010
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 04.03.2010
Binley, Brian Conservative Party Northampton South 03.03.2010
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 24.02.2010
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 03.02.2010
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 01.03.2010
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 23.02.2010
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 01.03.2010
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 04.03.2010
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 08.02.2010
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 22.02.2010
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham 30.03.2010
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 02.02.2010
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 04.02.2010
Davies, David TC Conservative Party Monmouth 08.02.2010
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 01.02.2010
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 02.02.2010
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 12.03.2010
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 05.02.2010
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 04.03.2010
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 03.02.2010
Greenway, John Conservative Party Ryedale 23.02.2010
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 08.02.2010
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 25.02.2010
Huhne, Chris Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 10.03.2010
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 15.03.2010
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 10.02.2010
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 29.03.2010
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 04.03.2010
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 05.02.2010
Keeble, Sally Labour Party Northampton North 23.02.2010
Keen, Alan Labour Party Feltham and Heston 06.04.2010
Kemp, Fraser Labour Party Houghton and Washington East 23.02.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 22.02.2010
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 06.04.2010
Malins, Humfrey Conservative Party Woking 03.02.2010
Mates, Michael Conservative Party East Hampshire 06.04.2010
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 24.02.2010
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 02.02.2010
Mercer, Patrick Conservative Party Newark 22.02.2010
Moore, Michael Liberal Democrats Berwickshire Roxburgh and Selkirk 25.02.2010
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 23.02.2010
Oaten, Mark Liberal Democrats Winchester 22.02.2010
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 10.03.2010
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 02.03.2010
Pritchard, Mark Conservative Party The Wrekin 29.03.2010
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 18.03.2010
Smith, Angela C Labour Party Sheffield Hillsborough 23.02.2010
Syms, Robert Conservative Party Poole 08.03.2010
Timpson, Edward Conservative Party Crewe and Nantwich 23.03.2010
Touhig, Don Labour Party Islwyn 24.02.2010
Ussher, Kitty Labour Party Burnley 01.03.2010
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 02.02.2010
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 08.03.2010
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 10.02.2010
Wilshire, David Conservative Party Spelthorne 24.03.2010
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 02.02.2010
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 24.02.2010
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 23.02.2010