Early day motion 632

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes statistics from the Health and Safety Executive (HSE) which indicate that the number of work-related deaths fell to a record low in 2008-09; expresses its concern, however, that the figures used by the HSE do not reflect the true number of people killed by work-related activity as they do not include all those killed by work-related incidents which are not reported to the HSE but to other authorities, and does not include the many thousands who die from illness caused by poor working conditions; estimates that in 2008-09 as many as 1,500 people may have died from work-related incidents and a further 50,000 from work-related illness; believes it is vital for an informed debate that the public are made aware of the accurate number of deaths at work; and calls on the Government to publish annually the total number of work-related deaths and not just those covered by the HSE.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 59

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 59 out of 59

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 08.02.2010
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 01.02.2010
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 23.02.2010
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 21.01.2010
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 19.01.2010
Cairns, David Labour Party Inverclyde 23.02.2010
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 19.01.2010
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 20.01.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 19.01.2010
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 18.01.2010
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 26.01.2010
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 29.01.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 19.01.2010
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 02.02.2010
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 26.01.2010
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 21.01.2010
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 20.01.2010
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 19.01.2010
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 20.01.2010
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 09.02.2010
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 26.01.2010
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 20.01.2010
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 20.01.2010
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 25.01.2010
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 02.02.2010
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 28.01.2010
George, Bruce Labour Party Walsall South 08.02.2010
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 21.01.2010
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 08.02.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 19.01.2010
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 21.01.2010
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 19.01.2010
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 03.02.2010
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 19.01.2010
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 20.01.2010
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 19.01.2010
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 27.01.2010
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 21.01.2010
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 19.01.2010
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 06.04.2010
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 21.01.2010
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 20.01.2010
Mason, John Scottish National Party Glasgow East 25.01.2010
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 27.01.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.01.2010
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 21.01.2010
Pelling, Andrew INDEPENDENT Croydon Central 18.01.2010
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 19.01.2010
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 23.03.2010
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 19.01.2010
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 20.01.2010
Spink, Bob INDEPENDENT Castle Point 19.01.2010
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 20.01.2010
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 20.01.2010
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 19.01.2010
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 21.01.2010
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 19.01.2010
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 25.01.2010
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 20.01.2010