Early day motion 571

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned at the number of former armed service personnel in prison or under the supervision of the Probation Service on community service or parole; notes that of the estimated 20,000 veterans that leave the structured environment of the armed forces to return to civilian life each year, many experience profound difficulties such as depression, homelessness and reliance on alcohol, with a smaller number suffering symptoms of post-traumatic stress disorder; is concerned that appropriate counselling, health and welfare support is not reaching many of these ex-soldiers; and therefore calls on the Government to work with the trade unions representing staff in the justice sector and the armed services voluntary sector to implement a co-ordinated national strategy to ensure that counselling and advice facilities are available during and immediately after service to minimise the chances of individuals entering the criminal justice system, and that help and advice is available for those who do enter the criminal justice system to avoid reoffending.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 58

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 58 out of 58

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 20.01.2010
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 12.01.2010
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 12.01.2010
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 13.01.2010
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 28.01.2010
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 13.01.2010
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 13.01.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 14.01.2010
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 19.01.2010
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 13.01.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 12.01.2010
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 12.01.2010
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 13.01.2010
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 13.01.2010
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 12.01.2010
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 20.01.2010
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 12.01.2010
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 12.01.2010
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 19.01.2010
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 28.01.2010
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 12.01.2010
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 12.01.2010
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 13.01.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 14.01.2010
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 18.01.2010
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 19.01.2010
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 18.01.2010
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 12.01.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.01.2010
Howarth, David Liberal Democrats Cambridge 12.01.2010
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 19.01.2010
Howells, Kim Labour Party Pontypridd 20.01.2010
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 27.01.2010
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 18.01.2010
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 14.01.2010
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 13.01.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 20.01.2010
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 18.01.2010
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 12.01.2010
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 12.01.2010
Mason, John Scottish National Party Glasgow East 14.01.2010
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 14.01.2010
McCartney, Ian Labour Party Makerfield 13.01.2010
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 13.01.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 12.01.2010
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 13.01.2010
Pelling, Andrew INDEPENDENT Croydon Central 20.01.2010
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 12.01.2010
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 28.01.2010
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 13.01.2010
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 19.01.2010
Spink, Bob INDEPENDENT Castle Point 12.01.2010
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 25.01.2010
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 13.01.2010
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 21.01.2010
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 18.01.2010
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 20.01.2010
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 13.01.2010