Early day motion 477

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned that the use of Recovered Fuel Oil (RFO) in the lime manufacturing industry is taxed 10 times higher in the UK than minimum EU levels, making it three times the price of natural gas; understands that RFO is manufactured from recycled waste oils that have undergone a process to turn them into a safe and sustainable fuel product; notes that when RFO is burnt in Waste Incineration Directive (WID) compliant plants, which are stringently controlled, it is safer for the environment and public health; further notes that the EU Energy Products Directive explicitly states that the UK is under no obligations to tax RFO use within mineralogical processes, yet does so; further notes that an exemption has been introduced for the steel industry and a tax rebate for the electricity industry which are not required to use WID compliant facilities; acknowledges that the lime manufacturing sector can play a considerable part in minimising the UK's fossil fuel dependency and encouraging low carbon growth, yet currently has no incentive to do so; considers this situation to demonstrate a distinct lack of joined up government thinking between financial and environmental policy, which is damaging the industry's competitiveness; further notes that the Government is missing an opportunity to dispose of this waste in an environmentally sound way; and therefore calls on Government to reduce the tax on RFO used in WID-compliant facilities to address the lack of commercial incentive for companies to invest in greener technologies and use recycled energy in their manufacturing processes.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 54

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 54 out of 54

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 01.02.2010
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 05.01.2010
Atkins, Charlotte Labour Party Staffordshire Moorlands 15.12.2009
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 16.12.2009
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 07.01.2010
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 16.12.2009
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 05.01.2010
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 16.12.2009
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 16.12.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 16.12.2009
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 05.01.2010
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 11.01.2010
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 16.12.2009
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 02.03.2010
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 01.02.2010
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 05.01.2010
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 06.01.2010
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 06.01.2010
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 16.12.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 07.01.2010
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 19.01.2010
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 29.01.2010
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 15.12.2009
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 29.01.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 16.12.2009
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 16.12.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 11.01.2010
Howells, Kim Labour Party Pontypridd 03.02.2010
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 06.01.2010
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 16.12.2009
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 27.01.2010
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 14.01.2010
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 05.01.2010
Levitt, Tom Labour Party High Peak 15.12.2009
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 06.01.2010
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 12.01.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.01.2010
Mullin, Chris Labour Party Sunderland South 28.01.2010
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 02.02.2010
Opik, Lembit Liberal Democrats Montgomeryshire 04.02.2010
Reed, Andy Labour Party Loughborough 07.01.2010
Short, Clare INDEPENDENT LABOUR Birmingham Ladywood 04.02.2010
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 07.01.2010
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 16.12.2009
Stoate, Howard Labour Party Dartford 04.02.2010
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 05.01.2010
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 03.02.2010
Tipping, Paddy Labour Party Sherwood 15.12.2009
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 02.02.2010
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 13.01.2010
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 15.12.2009
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 09.02.2010
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 16.12.2009
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 15.12.2009