Early day motion 399

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the Government's commitment to introduce Agency Workers Regulations to give agency workers equal treatment with permanent staff on pay and holidays after 12 weeks in a job; notes however that the draft regulations published by the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills state that if there were a break in service for six weeks this would break the continuity for the purposes of the 12-week qualifying period for equal treatment rights; shares the concern of the National Union of Teachers, that having a six week break clause would offer very little protection to supply teachers as the school summer holidays would constitute a break in service and it would be simple for agencies to avoid the provisions by moving supply teachers between schools; further notes that it would be virtually impossible for teachers working in local authorities that have moved to four or five shorter academic terms to acquire 12 weeks continuous service in a single school; and urges the Government to strengthen the regulations before publication to ensure supply teachers can benefit from the equal treatment provisions.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 99

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 99 out of 99

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 18.01.2010
Ainger, Nick Labour Party Carmarthen West and Pembrokeshire South 20.01.2010
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 16.12.2009
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 19.01.2010
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 16.12.2009
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield Attercliffe 20.01.2010
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 09.12.2009
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 18.01.2010
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 25.01.2010
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 26.02.2010
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 09.12.2009
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 09.12.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 09.12.2009
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 25.01.2010
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 15.12.2009
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 05.01.2010
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 27.01.2010
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 19.01.2010
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 25.01.2010
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 08.12.2009
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 09.12.2009
Cousins, Jim Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne Central 14.12.2009
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 21.01.2010
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham 08.12.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 14.12.2009
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 19.01.2010
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 19.01.2010
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 09.12.2009
Dhanda, Parmjit Labour Party Gloucester 28.01.2010
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 09.12.2009
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 09.12.2009
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 08.12.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 08.12.2009
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 15.12.2009
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 01.02.2010
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 19.01.2010
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 25.01.2010
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 28.01.2010
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 09.12.2009
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 25.01.2010
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 08.12.2009
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 15.12.2009
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 12.01.2010
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 08.02.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 09.12.2009
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 09.12.2009
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 03.03.2010
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 14.12.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 15.12.2009
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 09.12.2009
Howells, Kim Labour Party Pontypridd 20.01.2010
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 09.12.2009
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 10.12.2009
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 05.01.2010
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 10.12.2009
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 10.12.2009
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 10.12.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 09.12.2009
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 02.02.2010
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 27.01.2010
Laxton, Bob Labour Party Derby North 14.12.2009
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 09.12.2009
Levitt, Tom Labour Party High Peak 28.01.2010
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 08.12.2009
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 27.01.2010
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 26.01.2010
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 27.01.2010
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 05.01.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 08.12.2009
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 05.01.2010
McGrady, Eddie Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 22.02.2010
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 26.01.2010
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 09.12.2009
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 21.01.2010
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 01.02.2010
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 28.01.2010
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 26.01.2010
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 03.02.2010
Pelling, Andrew INDEPENDENT Croydon Central 10.12.2009
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 02.02.2010
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 15.12.2009
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 13.01.2010
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 09.12.2009
Ryan, Joan Labour Party Enfield North 15.03.2010
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 16.03.2010
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 08.12.2009
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 26.01.2010
Smith, Angela C Labour Party Sheffield Hillsborough 02.02.2010
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 09.12.2009
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 29.01.2010
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 08.12.2009
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 02.02.2010
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 10.12.2009
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 22.02.2010
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 09.12.2009
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 14.12.2009
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 10.03.2010
Wright, Anthony D Labour Party Great Yarmouth 29.01.2010
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 02.02.2010