Early day motion 332

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the new direct investment in existing and new council housing but considers that the level of funding in the proposed Housing Revenue Account reforms is not sufficient to meet housing need; believes that the 3,200 new council homes will be nowhere near enough to provide the public housing for rent needed by the five million people on council housing waiting lists and that the new homes built will be heavily outnumbered by council homes lost through privatisation and sales to finance decent homes improvement in the year ahead; and recommends that to avoid further loss of much-needed local authority housing stock the Government should impose an immediate moratorium on the further sale of council housing, should provide funding on the scale necessary to meet the level of need including the £7 billion backlog of capital works, and should provide a new system of funding council housing which creates a level playing field on debt write-off and stock transfer so as to achieve the `sustainable, long-term system for financing council housing' promised by Ministers, and to begin the big council and social house-building drive necessary to put people and builders back to work and ensure that the building of public housing reaches the level necessary to check the rise in private house prices and prevent people being forced to take up mortgages they cannot afford as the only way of being housed, trends which have led to the present crisis.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 63

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 63 out of 63

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 08.02.2010
Barlow, Celia Labour Party Hove 05.02.2010
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield Attercliffe 28.01.2010
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 08.12.2009
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 08.12.2009
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 09.12.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.12.2009
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 03.12.2009
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 25.01.2010
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 26.01.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 03.12.2009
Cousins, Jim Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne Central 08.12.2009
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 21.01.2010
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham 08.12.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 07.12.2009
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 09.12.2009
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 03.12.2009
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 09.12.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 02.12.2009
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 02.12.2009
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 19.01.2010
Fisher, Mark Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 15.12.2009
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 25.01.2010
George, Bruce Labour Party Walsall South 26.01.2010
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 12.01.2010
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 07.12.2009
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 07.12.2009
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 09.12.2009
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 03.12.2009
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 07.12.2009
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 02.12.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 07.12.2009
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 07.12.2009
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 01.02.2010
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 03.12.2009
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 07.12.2009
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 21.01.2010
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 10.12.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 03.12.2009
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 25.01.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 09.12.2009
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 26.01.2010
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 26.01.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 09.12.2009
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 10.12.2009
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 03.12.2009
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 02.12.2009
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 21.01.2010
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 07.12.2009
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 03.12.2009
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 07.12.2009
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 21.01.2010
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 07.01.2010
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 07.12.2009
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 25.01.2010
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 27.01.2010
Todd, Mark Labour Party South Derbyshire 29.01.2010
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 02.02.2010
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 27.01.2010
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 10.12.2009
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 25.01.2010
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 07.12.2009
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 29.01.2010