Early day motion 240

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the serious adverse reactions that some adults have suffered following receipt of the hepatitis B and other vaccines, which they were required to have as a condition of their employment; further notes that such adults include doctors, nurses, paramedics, medical technicians and other health service personnel together with specialist civil servants, social workers, prison officers, refuse collectors and other public sector workers; recognises the devastating effect such adverse reactions can have on the long-term health of the individual, in some cases leading to debilitation and early retirement and a significant loss of income; further notes that there is no clear and transparent system of support for such adults as they are not eligible to make a claim under the Vaccine Damage Payment Act 1979 and often have to fight for industrial disablement benefit; acknowledges that in the United States 146 hepatitis cases have been fully compensated out of 578 applicants; and calls on the Government to include all occupational vaccines on the approved list under the Vaccine Damage Payment Act 1979, to provide for vaccine damage under the Industrial Injuries Scheme or establish a new scheme covering occupational vaccines for adults which includes all single and multiple vaccines and their component parts, and for the chosen scheme to protect all workers including those in training.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 102

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 102 out of 102

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 08.12.2009
Ainger, Nick Labour Party Carmarthen West and Pembrokeshire South 25.11.2009
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 25.11.2009
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 25.11.2009
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 25.11.2009
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 16.12.2009
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 26.11.2009
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 25.11.2009
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 30.11.2009
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 14.12.2009
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield Attercliffe 25.11.2009
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 26.11.2009
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 11.01.2010
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 26.11.2009
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 07.12.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.11.2009
Cawsey, Ian Labour Party Brigg and Goole 08.12.2009
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 02.12.2009
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 25.11.2009
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 02.12.2009
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 13.01.2010
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 25.11.2009
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 16.12.2009
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 25.11.2009
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 25.11.2009
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 30.11.2009
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 06.01.2010
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham 19.01.2010
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 26.11.2009
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 25.11.2009
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 25.11.2009
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 25.11.2009
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 25.11.2009
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 25.11.2009
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 07.12.2009
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 25.11.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 26.11.2009
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 25.11.2009
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 30.11.2009
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 25.11.2009
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 25.11.2009
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 25.11.2009
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 25.11.2009
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 26.11.2009
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 01.12.2009
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 25.11.2009
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 07.12.2009
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 01.12.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 25.11.2009
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 25.11.2009
Howells, Kim Labour Party Pontypridd 20.01.2010
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 25.11.2009
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 25.11.2009
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 26.11.2009
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 25.11.2009
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 25.11.2009
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 07.12.2009
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 26.11.2009
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 26.11.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 30.11.2009
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 30.11.2009
Key, Robert Conservative Party Salisbury 12.01.2010
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 25.11.2009
Laxton, Bob Labour Party Derby North 25.11.2009
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 25.11.2009
Levitt, Tom Labour Party High Peak 25.11.2009
Mackinlay, Andrew Labour Party Thurrock 03.12.2009
Mallaber, Judy Labour Party Amber Valley 25.11.2009
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 05.01.2010
McCartney, Ian Labour Party Makerfield 26.11.2009
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 26.11.2009
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.11.2009
McIsaac, Shona Labour Party Cleethorpes 20.01.2010
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 26.11.2009
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 25.11.2009
Mullin, Chris Labour Party Sunderland South 30.11.2009
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 26.11.2009
Palmer, Nick Labour Party Broxtowe 14.12.2009
Pelling, Andrew INDEPENDENT Croydon Central 25.11.2009
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 30.11.2009
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 25.11.2009
Purchase, Ken Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 25.11.2009
Reed, Andy Labour Party Loughborough 07.01.2010
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 25.11.2009
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 26.11.2009
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 25.11.2009
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 25.11.2009
Short, Clare INDEPENDENT LABOUR Birmingham Ladywood 25.11.2009
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 12.01.2010
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 26.11.2009
Spink, Bob INDEPENDENT Castle Point 09.12.2009
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 25.11.2009
Strang, Gavin Labour Party Edinburgh East 25.11.2009
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 05.01.2010
Taylor, Dari Labour Party Stockton South 07.01.2010
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 25.11.2009
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 25.11.2009
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 26.11.2009
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 26.11.2009
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 26.11.2009
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 25.11.2009
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 07.12.2009