Early day motion 221

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the unethical practices of Indian-owned Vedanta Resources and its subsidiaries, including the destruction of the homes, culture and livelihood of the Kond adivasi tribal people and the devastating environmental impact of the companies' activities; condemns the long-term and continuing support provided by the Department for International Development for the company and its subsidiaries, including arranging their introduction to the UK Stock Exchange in December 2003 and their continuing support through various agencies including Building Partnership for Development; further notes that Vedanta Resources and their subsidiaries are on the Norwegian government's list of banned companies; and urges the UK Government to launch a thorough investigation into the support that the Department for International Development and other Government departments and sectors continue to give to Vedanta Resources and their subsidiaries.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 32

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 32 out of 32

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 08.02.2010
Ainger, Nick Labour Party Carmarthen West and Pembrokeshire South 14.12.2009
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 01.12.2009
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 25.11.2009
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 02.02.2010
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 08.12.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 26.11.2009
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 16.12.2009
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 16.03.2010
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 26.11.2009
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 01.12.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 26.11.2009
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 25.11.2009
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 19.01.2010
Goldsworthy, Julia Liberal Democrats Falmouth and Camborne 16.12.2009
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 16.12.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 15.12.2009
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 07.12.2009
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 30.11.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 30.11.2009
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 26.11.2009
McGrady, Eddie Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 18.01.2010
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 26.11.2009
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 01.12.2009
Short, Clare INDEPENDENT LABOUR Birmingham Ladywood 02.12.2009
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 25.11.2009
Taylor, Matthew Liberal Democrats Truro and St Austell 30.11.2009
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent East 22.02.2010
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 10.12.2009
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 26.11.2009
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 24.11.2009
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 07.01.2010