Early day motion 1227

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the Government's intention to commit approximately £6 billion to a PFI contract to provide Search and Rescue (SAR) helicopter services from 2012; believes that this is a misguided priority at a time when frontline troops urgently need more helicopter capacity; further notes that new helicopters may have faster speeds and greater ranges but believes that they cannot have mastered the art of being in two places at once, and is therefore concerned about the reduction in total helicopter numbers; is alarmed that in consequence some SAR stations will only operate 12 hour cover instead of 24 hour cover, so endangering public safety; and urges the Government to abandon their project, think again, find a more economical alternative, and sustain 24 hour cover at all SAR stations.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 20

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 20 out of 20

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Alexander, Danny Liberal Democrats Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 30.03.2010
Browne, Jeremy Liberal Democrats Taunton 30.03.2010
Davies, David TC Conservative Party Monmouth 30.03.2010
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 07.04.2010
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 07.04.2010
Hancock, Mike [R] Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 07.04.2010
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 30.03.2010
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 07.04.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 07.04.2010
Liddell-Grainger, Ian Conservative Party Bridgwater 30.03.2010
Moore, Michael Liberal Democrats Berwickshire Roxburgh and Selkirk 30.03.2010
Opik, Lembit Liberal Democrats Montgomeryshire 30.03.2010
Pelling, Andrew INDEPENDENT Croydon Central 06.04.2010
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 30.03.2010
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 30.03.2010
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 06.04.2010
Smith, Robert Liberal Democrats West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 07.04.2010
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 30.03.2010
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 30.03.2010
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 07.04.2010