Early day motion 117

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House warmly welcomes the award of the 2009 Nobel Prize for Economics in October to the co-operative theorist and researcher, Professor Elinor Ostrom of Indiana University; is especially pleased that, albeit far too late, she is the first woman to win this esteemed prize; notes Professor Ostrom has been recognised for integrating research and scholarship from economics, political sciences and sociology, creating an inter-disciplinary fusion enhancing the understanding of poverty and the distribution of resources; agrees with Professor Ostrom that steps towards agreement on social differences can be successfully taken at family, community, civic and national level; further agrees with her judgment that co-operative systems of management succeed in contexts where market theorists long predicted failure; also agrees with the observation of Ed Mayo, the chief executive designate of Co-operatives UK, in The Guardian on 17 October 2009 that Professor Ostrom has demonstrated `that human behaviour in our capacity to collaborate is so much richer and more creative that the traditional theorists of the dismal science of economics would have us believe'; and calls on the Government to adapt Professor Ostrom's principles into its own economic policies.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 34

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 34 out of 34

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 01.12.2009
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 24.11.2009
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 19.11.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 26.11.2009
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 24.11.2009
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 02.12.2009
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.11.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 26.11.2009
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 19.11.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 25.11.2009
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 24.11.2009
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 30.11.2009
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 16.12.2009
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 26.11.2009
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 01.12.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 05.01.2010
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 07.12.2009
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 26.11.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 23.11.2009
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 30.11.2009
Linton, Martin Labour Party Battersea 08.12.2009
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 26.11.2009
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 14.12.2009
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 24.11.2009
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 24.11.2009
Opik, Lembit Liberal Democrats Montgomeryshire 01.12.2009
Penning, Mike Conservative Party Hemel Hempstead 26.11.2009
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 25.11.2009
Spink, Bob INDEPENDENT Castle Point 24.11.2009
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 01.12.2009
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 26.11.2009
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 24.11.2009
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 10.02.2010
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 25.11.2009