Early day motion 1055

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that the extraction of tar sands produces on average three times the greenhouse gases of conventional oil, as well as causing deforestation and pollution which threatens the lives and livelihoods of indigenous communities; further notes the increasing concern among investors that tar sands investments are financially as well as environmentally unsustainable; believes that the continued expansion of tar sands extraction is incompatible with the emissions reductions needed to avoid catastrophic climate change; and therefore expresses the hope that the Parliamentary Contributory Pension Fund will vote in favour of shareholder resolutions requiring BP and Shell to report on the investment risks associated with their tar sands projects.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 39

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 39 out of 39

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Peter Conservative Party East Surrey 10.03.2010
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 06.04.2010
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 10.03.2010
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 22.03.2010
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 23.03.2010
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 12.03.2010
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 22.03.2010
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 16.03.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 17.03.2010
Challen, Colin Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 10.03.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 12.03.2010
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 11.03.2010
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 16.03.2010
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 10.03.2010
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 11.03.2010
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 17.03.2010
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 11.03.2010
Goldsworthy, Julia Liberal Democrats Falmouth and Camborne 25.03.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 15.03.2010
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 07.04.2010
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 11.03.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 12.03.2010
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 10.03.2010
Howarth, David Liberal Democrats Cambridge 16.03.2010
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 10.03.2010
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 24.03.2010
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 15.03.2010
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 16.03.2010
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 17.03.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 16.03.2010
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 17.03.2010
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 16.03.2010
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 10.03.2010
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 16.03.2010
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 16.03.2010
Webb, Steve Liberal Democrats Northavon 15.03.2010
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 17.03.2010
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 17.03.2010
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 22.03.2010