Early day motion 1023

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is extremely concerned by reports that Amnesty prisoner-of-conscience Haytham Al-Maleh has become seriously ill since being denied appropriate medication for his chronic medical conditions; believes that Mr Al-Maleh, a prominent lawyer, human rights activist and former President of the Syrian Human Rights Society, has again been imprisoned because of his defence of human rights in Syria; recalls his defence of Mr Mamoun Al-Homsi and Mr Riad Seef, both former Syrian members of parliament, whose cases were taken up by the Inter-Parliamentary Union's Committee on the Human Rights of Parliamentarians; and asks the international community to urge the Syrian government to release Mr Al-Maleh or at least to allow him to receive the medical treatment he requires as a matter of urgency and to significantly improve his conditions of detention.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 33

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 33 out of 33

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 04.03.2010
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 05.03.2010
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 04.03.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 09.03.2010
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 29.03.2010
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 11.03.2010
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 04.03.2010
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 04.03.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 04.03.2010
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 09.03.2010
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 10.03.2010
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 05.03.2010
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 05.03.2010
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 10.03.2010
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 05.03.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 09.03.2010
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 11.03.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 04.03.2010
Howells, Kim Labour Party Pontypridd 09.03.2010
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 24.03.2010
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 10.03.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 10.03.2010
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 10.03.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 10.03.2010
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 04.03.2010
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 06.04.2010
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 09.03.2010
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's Bush 12.03.2010
Starkey, Phyllis Labour Party Milton Keynes South West 04.03.2010
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 16.03.2010
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 08.03.2010
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 15.03.2010
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 09.03.2010