Early day motion 793

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House remembers that 15 February 2009 is the five year anniversary of the tragic killing of four rail workers at Tebay who were struck by a runaway trailer loaded with railway ballast, which also injured and traumatised other rail workers; expresses sympathy with their families, colleagues and the local community; is alarmed that since Tebay there have been at least a further 16 runaways on the rail network, and that runaways have the potential to kill, injure and traumatise rail workers and passengers alike; believes that the rail industry should do everything in its power to minimise the risk of runaways and introduce better protections; notes with concern the slow pace in introducing such protections and the low priority this work seems to have with Network Rail; and calls on Network Rail urgently to address this continued threat to the safety of passengers and rail workers.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 50

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 50 out of 50

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 02.03.2009
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 25.02.2009
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 01.06.2009
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield Attercliffe 06.05.2009
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 24.02.2009
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 06.05.2009
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 24.02.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 24.02.2009
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 06.03.2009
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 24.03.2009
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 11.02.2009
Cousins, Jim Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne Central 20.04.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 23.02.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 23.02.2009
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 04.03.2009
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 04.03.2009
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 23.02.2009
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 23.02.2009
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 11.03.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 11.02.2009
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 12.02.2009
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 23.02.2009
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 23.02.2009
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 10.03.2009
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 05.03.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 12.02.2009
Kemp, Fraser Labour Party Houghton and Washington East 23.02.2009
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 05.03.2009
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 25.02.2009
Marshall-Andrews, Robert Labour Party Medway 10.03.2009
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 25.02.2009
Mason, John Scottish National Party Glasgow East 26.02.2009
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 26.02.2009
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 11.02.2009
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 12.02.2009
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 23.02.2009
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 02.03.2009
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 12.02.2009
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 11.02.2009
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 23.02.2009
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 25.02.2009
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 25.02.2009
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 27.02.2009
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 11.02.2009
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 23.02.2009
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 13.03.2009
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 23.02.2009
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 23.02.2009
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 23.02.2009
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 10.03.2009