Early day motion 248

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that UK libraries have made an essential contribution to the social, cultural and economic well-being of communities for the past 150 years and that more people in the UK visit libraries than football matches or cinemas; acknowledges that despite increased investment in the library service over the past decade, more needs to be done to keep libraries strong and central to their communities; therefore welcomes the launch of UNISON's report Taking Stock: The Future of our UK Library Service; supports the report's five point plan for a revitalised public library service maintained and improved by adequate resourcing and public funding, including empowered staff-shaping services in partnership with their local community, partnership working between libraries and councils across the UK, responsiveness to library users from all backgrounds and the provision of staff training and professional development; is confident that this fresh thinking will ensure that the library service can build on its past successes; and calls upon the Government to incorporate this plan as part of its current review of the library service.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 68

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 68 out of 68

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 15.12.2008
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 26.01.2009
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 15.12.2008
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 20.05.2009
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 15.01.2009
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.12.2008
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 23.02.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 16.12.2008
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 25.03.2009
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 27.01.2009
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 16.12.2008
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 16.12.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 16.12.2008
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 09.02.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 16.12.2008
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 16.12.2008
Dhanda, Parmjit Labour Party Gloucester 12.05.2009
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 15.12.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 15.12.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 14.01.2009
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 26.01.2009
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 15.12.2008
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 15.01.2009
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 12.01.2009
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 17.12.2008
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 17.12.2008
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 20.03.2009
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 16.12.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 11.12.2008
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 16.12.2008
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 14.01.2009
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 16.12.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 15.12.2008
Keeble, Sally Labour Party Northampton North 13.01.2009
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 12.01.2009
Kemp, Fraser Labour Party Houghton and Washington East 12.01.2009
Laxton, Bob Labour Party Derby North 12.01.2009
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 18.12.2008
Mallaber, Judy Labour Party Amber Valley 24.02.2009
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 20.01.2009
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 15.12.2008
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 15.12.2008
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 14.05.2009
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 20.03.2009
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 17.12.2008
Opik, Lembit Liberal Democrats Montgomeryshire 19.03.2009
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 27.01.2009
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 10.02.2009
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 15.12.2008
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 23.02.2009
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 16.12.2008
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 12.01.2009
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 17.12.2008
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 12.01.2009
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's Bush 09.03.2009
Smith, Angela C Labour Party Sheffield Hillsborough 12.01.2009
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 12.02.2009
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 12.01.2009
Taylor, Dari Labour Party Stockton South 22.01.2009
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 15.12.2008
Touhig, Don Labour Party Islwyn 24.03.2009
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 18.12.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 19.01.2009
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 12.01.2009
Walter, Robert Conservative Party North Dorset 14.01.2009
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 15.12.2008
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 12.01.2009
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 07.05.2009