Early day motion 2191

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House supports the actions of the mainly migrant workers employed by Grants Veterinary Services PLC, a private contractor providing veterinary services to the Meat Hygiene Service (MHS), who are seeking trade union recognition to give them a voice at work and protect them from exploitation and having their pay, terms and conditions slashed; reminds the Government that this group of workers provides essential services to protect public health and should be treated with dignity and respect in the workplace; and urges the MHS to investigate the employment of migrant workers employed by its contractors and to put in place measures that ensure their pay, terms and conditions of employment are overall no less favourable than those employees directly employed by the MHS.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 47

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 47 out of 47

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 09.11.2009
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 28.10.2009
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 05.11.2009
Atkins, Charlotte Labour Party Staffordshire Moorlands 29.10.2009
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 05.11.2009
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 05.11.2009
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 28.10.2009
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 10.11.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 03.11.2009
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 05.11.2009
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 29.10.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 02.11.2009
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 03.11.2009
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 05.11.2009
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 29.10.2009
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 03.11.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 28.10.2009
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 09.11.2009
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 03.11.2009
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 05.11.2009
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 04.11.2009
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 09.11.2009
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 03.11.2009
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 05.11.2009
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 29.10.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 28.10.2009
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 05.11.2009
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 03.11.2009
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 05.11.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 03.11.2009
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 09.11.2009
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 11.11.2009
Mallaber, Judy Labour Party Amber Valley 28.10.2009
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 09.11.2009
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 03.11.2009
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 09.11.2009
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 02.11.2009
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 03.11.2009
Morley, Elliot Labour Party Scunthorpe 05.11.2009
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 02.11.2009
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 09.11.2009
Taylor, Dari Labour Party Stockton South 09.11.2009
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 28.10.2009
Tipping, Paddy Labour Party Sherwood 28.10.2009
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 10.11.2009
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 04.11.2009
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 02.11.2009