Early day motion 2164

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates Pam Armstrong of the Council for Information on Tranquilliser and Anti-depressants and Doctor Ghosh Arun and the nursing staff at the Sefton Suite of the Aintree Hospital in Liverpool for setting up the first in-patient withdrawal facility for patients involuntarily addicted to prescription medication; congratulates Sandwell Primary Care Trust, Birmingham for partly funding this facility; further congratulates the Department of Health for undertaking a review of its policy on addiction to prescription medication; and urges the Department of Health to establish a national network of specialist out-patient clinics to treat those addicted to tranquillisers and other prescription medications, and regional in-patient clinics like the Sefton Suite for those too addicted to withdraw at home.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 33

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 33 out of 33

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 03.11.2009
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 05.11.2009
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 28.10.2009
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 28.10.2009
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 28.10.2009
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 28.10.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 29.10.2009
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 05.11.2009
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 27.10.2009
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 28.10.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 29.10.2009
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 09.11.2009
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 28.10.2009
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 04.11.2009
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 03.11.2009
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 28.10.2009
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 05.11.2009
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 09.11.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 03.11.2009
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 28.10.2009
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 05.11.2009
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 05.11.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 28.10.2009
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 04.11.2009
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 09.11.2009
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 04.11.2009
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 29.10.2009
Robinson, Iris Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 02.11.2009
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 03.11.2009
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 05.11.2009
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 28.10.2009
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 04.11.2009
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 02.11.2009