Early day motion 2134

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is appalled that workers employed by Carlisle Group on the Eurostar trains contract are on poverty wages which are less than the London Living Wage; is dismayed that these cleaners are denied sick pay and pensions and there are constant complaints of bullying and harassment of staff and victimisation of trade union representatives; is deeply concerned that the Eurostar cleaners have complained that there is a racial undertone to the haranguing of the mainly black and ethnic minority workforce; believes these employment abuses are more akin to the Victorian age; notes that the cleaners have been pushed into taking strike action to fight for dignity at work and salutes their bravery and solidarity; demands Eurostar and Carlisle Group take urgent steps to reach a fair settlement with the cleaners; further notes that Eurostar is publicly owned and that many public authorities have successfully intervened to ensure a living wage is paid throughout their contract chains; and therefore calls on the Government to do all it can to bring about a just conclusion to this dispute.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 50

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 50 out of 50

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 21.10.2009
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 03.11.2009
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 11.11.2009
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 22.10.2009
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 27.10.2009
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 28.10.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 22.10.2009
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 29.10.2009
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 21.10.2009
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 26.10.2009
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 21.10.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 26.10.2009
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 27.10.2009
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 27.10.2009
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 29.10.2009
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 22.10.2009
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 26.10.2009
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 21.10.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 27.10.2009
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 27.10.2009
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 28.10.2009
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 22.10.2009
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 22.10.2009
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 03.11.2009
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 21.10.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.10.2009
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 26.10.2009
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 05.11.2009
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 26.10.2009
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 27.10.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 22.10.2009
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 26.10.2009
Linton, Martin Labour Party Battersea 28.10.2009
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 28.10.2009
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 27.10.2009
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 27.10.2009
McCartney, Ian Labour Party Makerfield 27.10.2009
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.10.2009
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 26.10.2009
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 26.10.2009
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 28.10.2009
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 21.10.2009
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 29.10.2009
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 28.10.2009
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 03.11.2009
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 28.10.2009
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's Bush 26.10.2009
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 27.10.2009
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 04.11.2009
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 26.10.2009