Early day motion 1692

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the important contribution interns working for hon. Members make; further notes internships in Parliament offer young people a transformative insight into political life and an important gateway into politics; believes that people from all around the UK, and from diverse backgrounds should have an equal opportunity to take part in internships for hon. Members; further believes hon. Members should be leading the country through providing best practice internships; welcomes the new Interns Agreement launched by the Unite Parliamentary Staff Branch, a document analogous to an employment contract, which sets out what both the hon. Member and the intern can expect from the internship; urges all hon. Members to use an Interns Agreement to ensure that their interns are offered a fulfilling and fair experience with the opportunity for training and development; and urges the House to consider bringing forward measures similar to those of the European Parliament to offer well structured, resourced and transparently advertised internship programmes.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 60

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 60 out of 60

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Alexander, Danny Liberal Democrats Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 30.06.2009
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 08.07.2009
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 12.10.2009
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 13.10.2009
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 17.06.2009
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 16.10.2009
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 19.06.2009
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 25.06.2009
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 13.07.2009
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 25.06.2009
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 17.06.2009
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 15.07.2009
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 13.10.2009
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.06.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 22.06.2009
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 18.06.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 18.06.2009
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 22.06.2009
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 02.07.2009
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 22.06.2009
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 13.10.2009
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 22.06.2009
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 22.06.2009
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 26.06.2009
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 23.06.2009
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 11.11.2009
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 23.06.2009
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 29.06.2009
Howarth, David Liberal Democrats Cambridge 30.06.2009
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 11.11.2009
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 24.06.2009
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 22.06.2009
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 29.06.2009
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 24.06.2009
Keen, Alan Labour Party Feltham and Heston 24.06.2009
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 03.07.2009
Kramer, Susan Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 22.06.2009
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 23.06.2009
Mason, John Scottish National Party Glasgow East 13.07.2009
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 15.07.2009
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 23.06.2009
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 17.06.2009
Palmer, Nick Labour Party Broxtowe 17.06.2009
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 25.06.2009
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 17.06.2009
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 21.07.2009
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 14.07.2009
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 25.06.2009
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 23.06.2009
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 06.07.2009
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 23.06.2009
Taylor, Dari Labour Party Stockton South 17.06.2009
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 18.06.2009
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 01.07.2009
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 20.07.2009
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 14.07.2009
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 23.06.2009
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 14.10.2009
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 17.06.2009
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 30.06.2009