Early day motion 1472

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House commemorates the 40th anniversary on 12 May 2009 of the lowering of the voting age from 21 to 18 years; notes that in the eyes of the law young people aged 16 years can take on full-time jobs, pay taxes and become sexually active; further notes that a recent report by the Electoral Reform Society shows that polling of 16 and 17 year-olds consistently shows that a majority want the voting age lowered to 16 years; and urges the Government to lower the voting age to 16 years to ensure young people's rights reflect their responsibilities.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 43

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 43 out of 43

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 10.06.2009
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 14.05.2009
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 12.05.2009
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 10.06.2009
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 13.10.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 13.05.2009
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.05.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 18.05.2009
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 14.05.2009
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 14.05.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 13.05.2009
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 12.05.2009
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 01.06.2009
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 18.05.2009
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 12.05.2009
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 19.05.2009
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 01.06.2009
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 14.05.2009
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 20.05.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 13.10.2009
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 07.07.2009
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 19.05.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 13.05.2009
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 20.05.2009
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 09.06.2009
Mackinlay, Andrew Labour Party Thurrock 02.06.2009
Mason, John Scottish National Party Glasgow East 21.05.2009
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 04.06.2009
McCartney, Ian Labour Party Makerfield 13.05.2009
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 10.06.2009
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 14.05.2009
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 20.05.2009
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 13.05.2009
Scott, Lee Conservative Party Ilford North 13.05.2009
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 11.06.2009
Smith, Robert Liberal Democrats West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 17.06.2009
Spink, Bob INDEPENDENT Castle Point 12.05.2009
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 18.05.2009
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 12.05.2009
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 13.05.2009
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 01.06.2009
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 14.05.2009
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 13.05.2009