Early day motion 1204

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomed the opportunity to debate the issue of asbestos in schools in Westminster Hall; notes the fatal effect that exposure to asbestos continues to have on pupils and teachers exposed to asbestos fibres in school buildings; further notes that the incidence of mesothelioma is rising, with the Association of Teachers and Lecturers citing at least 400 members of the teaching profession who have been exposed to asbestos, recognises that 75 per cent. of all schools across the country have asbestos present in one form or another; notes that in the United States of America and the Republic of Ireland clear policies have been adopted in relation to asbestos in school buildings; calls upon the Government to carry out a confidential national survey of schools, followed by funding from the Department of Children, Schools and Families for any school identified during the survey as needing remedial work; further calls on the Government to implement a policy of replacing all asbestos containing materials in schools as part of a national strategy with clear targets in order to provide safe environments for the nation's pupils to succeed; and welcomes the Government's concession that proper training needs to be provided to all head teachers and school managers regarding their current responsibilities in this area.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 43

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 43 out of 43

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 05.05.2009
Bacon, Richard Conservative Party South Norfolk 20.04.2009
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 21.05.2009
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 26.03.2009
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 26.03.2009
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 26.03.2009
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 22.04.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 01.04.2009
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 21.04.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 23.06.2009
Curtis-Thomas, Claire Labour Party Crosby 20.04.2009
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 23.04.2009
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 21.04.2009
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 02.07.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 02.04.2009
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 07.05.2009
Fisher, Mark Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 19.05.2009
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 26.03.2009
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 27.04.2009
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 31.03.2009
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 02.04.2009
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 01.04.2009
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 01.04.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 13.10.2009
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 12.10.2009
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 22.04.2009
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 30.04.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 09.06.2009
Laxton, Bob Labour Party Derby North 15.06.2009
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 20.04.2009
McGrady, Eddie Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 21.04.2009
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 24.04.2009
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 26.03.2009
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 20.05.2009
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 26.03.2009
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 06.05.2009
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 01.04.2009
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 20.04.2009
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 22.04.2009
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 23.04.2009
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 20.04.2009
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 01.04.2009
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 26.03.2009