Early day motion 1020

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is alarmed and concerned to learn from the Information Commissioner's report that the blacklisting of trade union members is widespread in the construction industry; condemns the major construction contractors who subscribed to the Consulting Association and also provided it with information about workers and employees; notes that many of the companies who donated to the Consulting Association are currently engaged on publicly-procured work projects worth billions of pounds; considers that there may be legal implications where for example an employee or worker believes they were dismissed because they were on the list and requests that the Information Commissioner gives a reasonable time for people to make the appropriate checks; and calls on the Government to enact immediately legislation to prohibit the compilation of a blacklist containing the details of workers and employees with a view to them being used by employers or employment agencies to discriminate in relation to employment and to make it a criminal offence for an employer to commission such information.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 96

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 96 out of 96

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainger, Nick Labour Party Carmarthen West and Pembrokeshire South 25.03.2009
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 13.03.2009
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 13.03.2009
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 09.03.2009
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 09.03.2009
Cairns, David Labour Party Inverclyde 18.03.2009
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.03.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 10.03.2009
Cawsey, Ian Labour Party Brigg and Goole 01.04.2009
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 09.03.2009
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 10.03.2009
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 12.03.2009
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 10.03.2009
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 09.03.2009
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 09.03.2009
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 09.03.2009
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 10.03.2009
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 09.03.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 09.03.2009
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 09.03.2009
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 09.03.2009
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 11.03.2009
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 11.03.2009
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 17.03.2009
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 10.03.2009
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 09.03.2009
Dhanda, Parmjit Labour Party Gloucester 26.03.2009
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 10.03.2009
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 09.03.2009
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 09.03.2009
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 12.03.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 10.03.2009
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 11.03.2009
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 23.04.2009
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 09.03.2009
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 10.03.2009
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 10.03.2009
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 19.03.2009
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 10.03.2009
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 19.03.2009
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 10.03.2009
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 09.03.2009
Henderson, Doug Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 24.03.2009
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 09.03.2009
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 23.03.2009
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 10.03.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 09.03.2009
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 15.06.2009
Howells, Kim Labour Party Pontypridd 19.03.2009
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 09.03.2009
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 10.03.2009
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 10.03.2009
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 10.03.2009
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 10.03.2009
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 19.03.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 10.03.2009
Keen, Alan Labour Party Feltham and Heston 11.03.2009
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 09.03.2009
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 16.03.2009
Levitt, Tom Labour Party High Peak 10.03.2009
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 12.03.2009
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 19.03.2009
Mackinlay, Andrew Labour Party Thurrock 09.03.2009
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 12.03.2009
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 17.03.2009
McCartney, Ian Labour Party Makerfield 23.03.2009
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 11.03.2009
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 11.03.2009
McGrady, Eddie Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 20.03.2009
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 09.03.2009
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 09.03.2009
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 10.03.2009
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 10.03.2009
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 12.03.2009
Purchase, Ken Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 09.03.2009
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 18.03.2009
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 10.03.2009
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 10.03.2009
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Central 08.06.2009
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 12.03.2009
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 11.03.2009
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 09.03.2009
Smith, Angela C Labour Party Sheffield Hillsborough 10.03.2009
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 09.03.2009
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 11.03.2009
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 11.03.2009
Touhig, Don Labour Party Islwyn 09.03.2009
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 10.03.2009
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 10.03.2009
Twigg, Derek Labour Party Halton 09.03.2009
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 18.03.2009
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 11.03.2009
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 11.03.2009
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 10.03.2009
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 09.03.2009
Winnick, David Labour Party Walsall North 09.03.2009