Early day motion 954

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes Jamie Oliver's exposé on Channel 4 of the gassing of unwanted male chicks with carbon dioxide, which induces gasping for breath; understands that this practice is common across battery, barn and free range egg systems; seeks the abolition of this practice as a matter of humanity; further deplores Tesco's decision to offer £1.99 chickens, coming soon after Sainsbury's and the Co-op have promised to raise their minimum chicken welfare standards; and congratulates Marks and Spencer on its market-leading standards for farm animal welfare, recognised by Compassion in World Farming.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 38

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 38 out of 38

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 22.02.2008
Atkins, Charlotte Labour Party Staffordshire Moorlands 05.03.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 19.02.2008
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 26.02.2008
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 25.02.2008
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 05.03.2008
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 27.02.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.02.2008
Conway, Derek Independent Conservative Old Bexley and Sidcup 22.02.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 21.02.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 19.02.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 22.02.2008
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 21.02.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 20.02.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 22.02.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 22.02.2008
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 21.02.2008
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 05.03.2008
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 21.02.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 25.02.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.02.2008
Horam, John Conservative Party Orpington 06.03.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 25.03.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 21.02.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 20.02.2008
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 21.02.2008
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 21.02.2008
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 21.02.2008
Moffatt, Laura Labour Party Crawley 21.02.2008
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 26.02.2008
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Central 19.05.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 26.02.2008
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 22.02.2008
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 03.03.2008
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 21.02.2008
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 26.02.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 19.02.2008
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 21.02.2008