Early day motion 791

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that soft loans and payments amounting to 258 million euros over the last five years were paid by the EU to the BBC; believes that such payments compromise the independence and objectivity of the BBC on EU issues; further notes that the BBC benefited by a cash-equivalent of approximately 39 million euros which is made up of 20.4 million actual saved interest on loan facilities of 240 million, 2.5 million in grants, 14.6 million to BBC World and 1.7 million euros in indirect payments; further notes that there are, in addition, undisclosed sums in respect of joint projects; further believes that these substantial benefits may offend against the BBC's Royal Charter, which demands independence, and also its editorial guidelines which state that the BBC should not `accept funds from any organisation whose interests or actions could raise doubts about the objectivity of programming'; and cites, as continuing evidence of BBC bias in its coverage of EU affairs, the BBC's refusal to broadcast coverage of the National Pro-Referendum Rally at Westminster on 27th October 2007; therefore calls on the Government to establish an independent inquiry into EU funding of the BBC and its impact on the BBC's objectivity on European matters and current debate over a referendum on the EU Constitution; and congratulates the Campaign for an Independent Britain for its initiative in uncovering this information.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 11

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 11 out of 11

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 29.01.2008
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 30.01.2008
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 29.01.2008
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 28.01.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 31.01.2008
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 30.01.2008
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 30.01.2008
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 28.01.2008
Wilshire, David Conservative Party Spelthorne 30.01.2008
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 29.01.2008
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 29.01.2008