Early day motion 595

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the progress that is being made by the Animals Asia Foundation towards bringing an end to the abhorent abuse of over 7,000 bears on farms in China; recognises that bear farmers and stakeholders in the industry continue to maintain that conditions on the farms are humane, whilst some evidence points to the contrary; notes that bears are kept for up to 22 years in cramped, rusting cages, with little room to stand up or turn around; further notes that bears continue to suffer in the most deplorable conditions, with metal catheters implanted deep into their gallbladders and infected fistula holes in their abdomens, enabling farmers to milk the bears for their bile twice daily; congratulates the Chinese government's work in partnership with Animals Asia Foundation in rescuing 218 bears from bear farms to date; and calls upon the British Government to do everything in its power to encourage the Chinese government to bring about an urgent end to this barbaric practice and to meet Chinese government officials in order to raise serious concerns at a national level.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 78

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 78 out of 78

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 09.01.2008
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 12.05.2008
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 21.04.2008
Banks, Gordon Labour Party Ochil and South Perthshire 22.02.2008
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 02.04.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 17.12.2007
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 08.01.2008
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 09.01.2008
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 08.01.2008
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 10.01.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.01.2008
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 08.01.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 18.12.2007
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 26.02.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 18.12.2007
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 10.01.2008
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 18.12.2007
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 09.01.2008
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 10.01.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 07.01.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 08.01.2008
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 08.01.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 21.01.2008
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 09.01.2008
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 21.04.2008
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 09.01.2008
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 07.01.2008
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 18.12.2007
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 18.12.2007
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 23.04.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 07.01.2008
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 10.01.2008
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 21.04.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 07.01.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.12.2007
Horam, John Conservative Party Orpington 18.12.2007
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 09.01.2008
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 08.01.2008
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 08.01.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 05.02.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 09.01.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 18.12.2007
Kramer, Susan Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 22.04.2008
Lancaster, Mark Conservative Party Milton Keynes North East 26.03.2008
Laws, David Liberal Democrats Yeovil 18.12.2007
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 01.04.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 08.01.2008
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 10.01.2008
Loughton, Tim Conservative Party East Worthing and Shoreham 18.12.2007
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 07.01.2008
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 09.01.2008
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 21.04.2008
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 08.01.2008
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 24.04.2008
Morley, Elliot Labour Party Scunthorpe 30.04.2008
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 15.01.2008
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 17.01.2008
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 09.01.2008
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 22.07.2008
Rennie, Willie Liberal Democrats Dunfermline and West Fife 10.01.2008
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 08.01.2008
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 17.12.2007
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 17.12.2007
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 03.06.2008
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 21.04.2008
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 17.12.2007
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 07.07.2008
Strang, Gavin Labour Party Edinburgh East 01.04.2008
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 18.12.2007
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 10.01.2008
Taylor, Matthew Liberal Democrats Truro and St Austell 01.04.2008
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 15.01.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 09.01.2008
Webb, Steve Liberal Democrats Northavon 06.10.2008
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 18.12.2007
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 28.01.2008
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 18.12.2007
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 09.01.2008