Early day motion 2321

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that when the Government decided to provide indemnification against insurance claims following nuclear accident at the Low-level Waste Repository at Drigg, for the new American management company, the then Minister for Energy published a written statement in Hansard of 27th February 2008 and the associated Minute was placed in the Library to allow 14 sitting days for objections from hon. Members; contrasts this open procedure with the approach adopted for a similar insurance indemnification for the new private sector management company for Sellafield, Nuclear Management Partners, when no written statement was placed before Parliament but instead, the then Minister for Energy wrote on 14th July 2008 to the chairmen of the Committee on Public Accounts and Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform Committee, enclosing a copy of the Minute setting out the proposed arrangements and stating that a copy of the Minute would be placed in the Library; further notes that this Minute arrived in the Library on 14th October, more than 75 days after the period for hon. Members to object officially elapsed; believes it is unacceptable for hon. Members to be denied the opportunity to comment on this Minute, the effect of which is to privatise the profits of the Sellafield management contract leaving the potentially multi-billion pound liabilities with taxpayers; declines to give approval to the proposed indemnification arrangements; and calls upon the Government to reopen the period in which hon. Members may signify objections to Government guarantees for which no statutory authority exists.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 39

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 39 out of 39

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 04.11.2008
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 28.10.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 23.10.2008
Challen, Colin Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 28.10.2008
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 11.11.2008
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 22.10.2008
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 29.10.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 29.10.2008
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 28.10.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 22.10.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 30.10.2008
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 18.11.2008
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 22.10.2008
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 13.11.2008
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 23.10.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 22.10.2008
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 30.10.2008
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 30.10.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 27.10.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 27.10.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 11.11.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 30.10.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 23.10.2008
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 23.10.2008
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 10.11.2008
Laws, David Liberal Democrats Yeovil 17.11.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 28.10.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 28.10.2008
McGrady, Eddie Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 03.11.2008
Pelling, Andrew INDEPENDENT Croydon Central 10.11.2008
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 22.10.2008
Short, Clare INDEPENDENT LABOUR Birmingham Ladywood 17.11.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 28.10.2008
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 10.11.2008
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 23.10.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 28.10.2008
Webb, Steve Liberal Democrats Northavon 12.11.2008
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 17.11.2008
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 19.11.2008